My Reviews (107)

Oat Raisin Toffee Biscuits

The addition of crushed toffee bits are a great twist on this old fashioned oat and raisin cookie recipe. I'm sure you will find them very addictive!
Reviews (107)


17 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: MARY HOWELL
First, these are very good cookies. But after reading the other reviews I made the following changes; I substituted half the butter for margarine and added 1/2 tea. salt. I also used old-fashioned rolled oats. And I baked for 11 minutes and cooled on rack for 1-2 minutes. My cookies did not spread ... they were about 2 inches in diameter after baking. I did get a little over 4 dozen. Very very good cookies! Thank you for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 May 2004
Reviewed by: cookin'mama
These were good. If I made them again I would make sure that the toffee bars were in large chunks. I used toffee bits and I think the toffee was a bit lost in the finished cookie.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: LUVCOOKING
This is a very good recipe for a chewy oatmeal cookie, I partially flattened some for a crisp cookie. My husband and neighbors went wild for them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: KLKAFKA
This is an excellent cookie! I followed the directions except for I added a 1/2 teaspoon of salt and I used four Skor bars that I crushed. It is true you really cannot taste the toffee but it definitely gives dimension to the cookie that it would not otherwise have. I also plumped the raisins in water before adding to the recipe. A+!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: Stincuzzi
A huge hit! When I went to add the toffee bits, I was surprised to see that I had cinnamon chips instead. I added them anyway and the cookies were fantastic! Next time, I will make sure I have toffee bits and try them that way!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: sandjo
After reading the reviews I did change the recipe a little. Instead of 1 cup butter, I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup shortening. I also added 1/2 tsp salt. I used a 8oz bag of Heath Toffee Bits and quick cooking oats. My cookies did not spread or stick to the parchment paper. I only let them cool for 3 minutes on the cookie sheet before moving them onto a cooling rack. I will definitely make these cookies again. But I will increase the rasins to 1 1/2 cups.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Katie M.
These were great! I don't know if I made them a little larger than in the recipe, but I found they needed to bake for closer to 13 minutes, instead of the 8-10 called for. Also, I couldn't find plain toffee bits, so I tried these with the chocolate covered toffee bits, and got rave reviews on them. I will definitely add this to my cookie recipes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: MULTIMOM
Incredible!!!! I did not find the toffee bits disappeared at all. I chilled the dough first to minimize spreading. The butter makes these! I don't recommend skimping it will affect the texture
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Shalaine_1
This recipe is a hit every time. They always turn out soft and chewy, never hard and dry. There are no changes needed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 May 2004
Reviewed by: mjbrown
Probably the best oatmeal raisin cookies I ever made. Moist and tasty. Everyone loved them. However, I needed to up the cooking time to about 12 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes