My Reviews (2,305)

Peanut Butter Biscuits

No chocolate chips for those who really enjoy the taste of peanuts! My husband loves these and he doesn't even like peanut butter.
Reviews (2305)


06 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: CARIST
These are fantastic! I've made them several times, and I find that I like them with extra oats (1/2 cup or so), less sugar, and with unsalted butter (I don't use shortening or margarine because they're scary). I often add chocolate chips to some of them, as well. For those who get flat cookies, there are three likely problems: a) your fat is too warm. Your shortening/marg/butter should be almost chilled--just barely warm enough to be creamed with the sugar. Anything warmer, and you're likely to spread. Also, don't cream them so long that the fat warms up; b) warm baking sheets. If you put dough onto a cookie sheet still warm from the last batch, you're asking for it. It's best if both the dough and the pan are cool; c) if neither of the above seems to be the problem, try adding another 1/4 cup of flour (or just make sure you were adding the proper amount in the first place). Hope this helps.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: naples34102
Over analyzation and discussion is just not necessary with this recipe. It is, quite simply, a great recipe on its own merit and doesn't need any messing around with it. Generally I prefer all butter for my cookies, but sometimes, as with this cookie, the shortening/butter combo is for a reason-shortening for a little heft and crispiness, and butter for flavor. This recipe is kind of like when you go to a hair stylist that's been doing your hair forever-you don't have to say a thing cuz she know's what you want, knows what she's doing, and she does it right. Great recipe, great cookie. Like my hair stylist, the recipe knows what it's doing and does it right.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: ZJSGRAM
HAD TO TRY AFTER READING REVIEWS AND MADE MODIFICATIONS...MY FAMILY RAVED ABOUT THESE...BEST I EVER MADE, HAD TO RATION THEM OUT...MY MODIFICATIONS WERE; ADD 1TSP VANILLA, INCREASE FLOUR TO 1 3/4 CUP FLOUR...INCREASE OATMEAL TO 1 1/2 CUPS....USE 1 CUP CRUNCHY PEANUT BUTTER PLUS 1/2 CUP CREAMY PEATNUT BUTTER...DECREASE SALT TO 1/2 TSP.. I ALSO USED `1/2 CUP BUTTER AND 1/2 CUP CRISCO BUTTER FLAVOR SHORTENING....ADDED 1 PKG.SEMI-SWEET CHOCOLATE CHIPS..... BAKE ONLY 10 MINUTES...WE ALL HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS VERSION
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: Jennifer
ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE! I subsituted 1 cup of butter instead of the margarine and shortening and it made the PERFECT cookie. THANK YOU THANK YOU.. deeeelicious! I added chocolate chips, peanut butter chips and white chocolate chips to the occassional cookie for a nice treat! Thanks again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: ilovetocook
How could someone complain about this recipe? I am not a cookie baker novice, and these cookies were just beautiful!! I added some white chocolate chips. Other than that, I didn't change a thing. The oatmeal gave them a beautiful rugged texture, not to mention an awesome taste! And I don't know why some say this is salty, I can't even taste the salt. I have made another peanut butter oatmeal cookie from this sight which I thought was good until I tasted these. This is my new PB recipe!! I am taking these to a fellowship at church tonight. Thanks so much!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: TOMVSGIRL
This recipe is very good. I doubled the recipe, and then added 2 extra cups of oats regular, not quick cooking). I also added 2 tsps of Almond extract. I also used crunchy peanut butter. These are very easy to bake. You know they are done when they look wrinkled. Be careful not to move them off the cookie sheet before they cool or they will break apart. But if one should crack, careful move it to the cooling rack and gently smoosh together. When it completely cools the cookie will be "healed" You can get a lot of cookies on a tray as the cookies do not spread much. I got 27 on 16" pizza stone. I use a small scoop so as to have uniform size cookies. Oh and I used unbleached flour except for one cup, which I used whole wheat flour. (Just a little bit of goodness in our goodies.) We make many dozens of different types of cookies for xmas gifts. With as chaotic as life can get with a large family, we only make drop cookies, and only those that look nice, taste delicious, and freeze well. This recipe fit the bill! The kids think chocolate chunks would make an excellent addition to this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: MommyFromSeattle
Soooo Soft and Chewy! This was a perfectly soft, not-overly sweet peanut butter cookie. I don't like crunchy/ crisp peanut butter cookies, and this recipe gave me exactly what I was looking for. Definitely add REAL BUTTER (salted) and I find adding 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chip enhances the cookie. You can't really taste the oatmeal in this recipe, but since the batter comes out VERY soft, the oatmeal seems to help hold it together. Refridgerate the batter in between baking and no more than 10 min. if you want your cookies to stay soft. I find the amount of sugar perfect if you add chocolate chips and this stays fresh for days in an airtight container! TRY IT- you WON'T REGRET IT!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: deerefam4
Very good! I too increased the following ingredients: PB 1 1/2 cups, oats 2 cups and added 1 tsp vanilla. Terrific! Then, for 1/2 the batter I put in 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips. Those cookies were good, but it overpowered the PB and so just tasted like chocolate chip oatmeal cookies.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: DREGINEK
Very good cookies! We used 2 cups of oatmeal (the 1 cup it called for just didn't seem like enough). Glad we did! Baking cookies are out of my element but these were easy and turned out tasty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: Mrs. K
These are excellent peanut butter cookies! I added about 1/2 cup more peanut butter and a dash of vanilla. I also used chunky peanut butter and it added more crunchiness. Next time I am going to try it with milk chocolate chips and peanut butter chips. I agree 1 cup of oatmeal is not enough. I added an extra 1/2 cup but next time will increase it to 2 cups total. This is a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes