My Reviews (38)

Almond Smarties Biscuits

The almond essence gives these Smarties biscuits a unique flavour that makes them, in my opinion, a little better than the rest.
Reviews (38)


30 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: JAMES_MOM
I baked these cookies last night for UFC 79 and everyone loved them. I did not have butter flavored shortening so I used 1/4 c butter and 1/4 c shortening with no adverse effect to the cookies. I also split the recipe in half before adding the candy-coated milk chocolate pieces. In half I added raisins and walnuts and in the other half I added the candy-coated milk chocolate pieces and walnuts. Both cookies were fabulous! The cookie dough tasted great also!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Apr 2001
Reviewed by: NANCY PISCITELLI
These were delicious cookies; however, I would love to know why the dough would not hold together very well. It was VERY crumbly and difficult to drop by spoonfuls. Otherwise, everyone loved them!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: Sheridan
This is a very versatile recipe, and a very good one I might add. I found out, after starting the dough, that I didn't have enough candies, nor did I have almond flavoring. I used all vanilla and decided to fill the rest of the cup with the candies with pecans and raisins. I also didn't have any butter-shortening, so I put in a little butter for flavor and regular shortening. Boy, these turned out so yummy!! I will definitely use this recipe again as I know you can add almost any combination of things to the mix and it will come out yummy. Thanks Ellen, the kids, nephews, grandma and myself couldn't wait to pop them in our mouths after they got out of the oven! enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: RAINBODELL
We have tried a lot of M&M cookie recipes, yet this one is about the best we've tasted. After the holidays, I was eager to try something that had a healthy ingredient like oatmeal in it (after weeks of a very "sugary" season!) So the next time I made treats, I tried this recipe. Everyone loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: Sandra
These cookies are excellet!!! I decreased the Rolled Oats to 1 1/4 cups and they came out perfect!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Leah
I doubled the recipe as suggested by another reviewer- the dough was way too dry and wouldn't stick together. So I added some peanut butter to get it to stick together. Mmm-mmm. I didn't have almond extract, so I doubled the vanilla. I had to bake them longer, about 15 minutes. They turned out good, not great, but I would make them again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Scotdog
Thanks so much for a base that I can make my diabetic hubbie a treat. I make my own Splenda Brown Sugar Blend. I mix 2 parts Splenda with 1 part Dark Brown Sugar. My blend actually was clumpy, so I put in the blender & it made a fine powdered sugar like texture. Used 1/3 cup of that blend, 1/3 cup of more Splenda & 1/3 cup of regular brown sugar. Used Whole Wheat Pastry Flour, less oats because mine are Organic Old Fashioned. Found Dark Choco M&M's after Christmas on clearance, used less that the cup. Hubbie was so happy! I learned on the Splenda site to cook at a lower temp, these were perfect at 350 for 9 minutes. Thanks again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: selena
I am not a great cookie maker. This cookie recipe just changed that!! These were the best cookies ever!!! They kept their shape, did not spread all over the pan and were chewy!! Thank you for a WONDERFUL recipe. This will be my base recipe for every cookie from now on!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Minnie K
This was a great recipe!! However, the yield is kind of small. I would try doubling it next time. 2 dozen may sound like a lot, but once you start eating these you can't stop!! I made a few changes, because I live abroad and not all of the ingredients are available; I used butter instead of shortening, and because I only have one bag of miniature M&Ms and didn't want to use them all up, I used 1/2 cup M&Ms and 1/2 cup chocolate chip cookies. They turned out GREAT!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: ChefChloe
These were delicious!! I added butterscotch chips instead of M&Ms and baked them into bars. They were moist, gooey, and full of flavor. 5 Stars for a great cookie!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes