My Reviews (116)

Rich Blueberry Cream Cake

A really lovely dessert - a dense cake layer is topped with a rich blueberry and sour cream layer. Serve with whipped cream and enjoy!
Reviews (116)


22 May 2005
Reviewed by: LYNN39SCAF
I made this a second time and it was fabulous! The first time I did not mix the berries and the creamed mixture. What a difference and what a great dessert. My entire family loved it. Just make sure to mix the berries and cream-not layer them as I did first time around.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Missie Nickerson
being from nova scotia myself, I had to try this recipe. I had the inlaws over for supper and it was a HUGE hit!! I was concerned cooking it because when I took it out of the oven, it was still really "jiggly". so I left it in the spring pan and put it in the fridge for a couple hours. It firmed right up and tasted WONDERFUL. I will be making this agiin, and maybe trying to substitue different fruit!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: peach1
Listing this as a cake recipe is a misnomer. It is in reality more of a tart. I would describe the crust as more cookie like than cake like. I have a recipe with the exact same ingredients and directions, but it is called "Sour Cream Fruit Tart" with the possibility of interchanging fresh fruits as the star of the dessert. I have made it with peaches and red raspberries to rave reviews. My only addition has been to change the amount of sugar mixed with the sour cream from 1/2 cup to one cup when making the blueberry version. This is simple to make with incredible eye and taste appeal which makes people think you are an incredibly talented baker. I have read all the comments about this recipe and noticed a few bad comments about this recipe. One: You must use the exact pan size called for. Two: Never use the new non stick or glass bottom spring form pans. Stick with the old cheapo regular spring forms. You will get better results. Three: Never ever use frozen or canned fruit with this recipe. You just don't get the same results.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Valerie Brunmeier
This is a fantastic recipe! I followed the advice of many other reviewers and mixed my blueberries directly into the cream mixture before pouring over the crust. I used frozen, rinsed and thawed blueberries and it turned out beautifully. We actually preferred it that night while still warm but it was good chilled the next day too. This is a great alternative to pie when you just don't feel like going to the trouble.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: GINADJ
This was VERY yummy!!! And very easy to make!!! I also made/baked this the night before, let it cool, and then put it in the fridge. took it out an hour before serving the next day. The whipped cream on top really makes the cake!!! Also want to note. I cooked it 65 minutes and the whole cake never browned, just the edges. It was perfect!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: Carol
Incredibly Easy and Delicious - was a hit at the party. I would suggest folding the blueberries into the sour cream mixture before pouring on top of crust.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Beth
I have made this recipe many times with great success. I have also mixed raspberries with the blueberries and the result is awesome. This recipe appeared on the side of the boxes at Blueberry Acres in NS for many years. Thank you Paul for posting it because when I moved to Ontario, I didn't bring those boxes with me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: GRANNYBIRD
Tried this after going blueberry picking. Very good. Crust was great. Almost like a cheesecake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: MAMADRAG
This was great. My family ate the whole thing in one night.Thanks so much for sharing.I used frozen blueberries and it worked great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Anna M
LOVE IT!!!! total hit with everyone. Definitely mix the blueberries with the cream mixture and chill. This one is a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes