My Reviews (9)

Beef and Pork Noodles

This is a really comforting stewed dish that is perfect for chilly nights. The mix of beef and pork makes it extra special.
Reviews (9)


18 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: SECRETAGENTMAN
I reviewed this once and the computer lost it, so sorry if it's a repeat. I didn't exactly follow the recipe. First, I split the meat into 4 patties. I didn't put the 2 cups of water in right away, as I thought that would make it too wet to reduce properly. I put in 1 cup, and added about 3/4 of the second cup during the simmer stage. I used Mozzarella cheese and put in some oregano, basil, and parsley toward the end. What emerged from this recipe was pasta with meatballs. The browned egg noodles didn't seem to do much. If I made it again, I'd probably use slightly-parboiled rigatoni, penne, etc. I'd also skip the melting cheese, but that's entirely personal preference. The reason I really enjoyed this recipe is that, when you leave out the water-and-noodles routine, is a *very* good and easy way to make tomato sauce with meatballs. No, they're not nice round meatballs. But the perfect, as they say, is the enemy of the good. Use a lot of onion, and the sugar in the onion plus the beef/sausage fat "mellow" the tomatoes into a really nice sauce. You could make this sauce and, with some Mozzarella cheese, have a great pizza topping. Or use the meatballs for sandwiches and reserve the tomato sauce for pasta. It's a really handy recipe, thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: Verna
Not bad but a little bland for our tastes. I think it's a great base for something that can be spiced up. I liked the browning of the noodles and also the Italian Sausage and ground beef patties but I had to make 4 patties instead of just 1 or 2 as listed in the recipe. I recommend not using a just cleaned stove top like I did as the drippings from the browned patties tends to pop all over the stove LOL! Other than that it was a good recipe...thanks so much Susanna!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Dragngirle
This was a pretty good skillet meal, wasn't exactly the easiest meal to prepare however. I made a few adjustments to it. I added about an 1/8 cup of sliced ripe olives, added a 1/8 tsp of garlic salt, & 1 tsp. of sugar (for 2 servings).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 May 2000
Reviewed by: DMORO
Very good, a mans dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: Amber
time consuming, but worth it. My husband drools over this stuff, i leave out the pimentos. I dunno what that other person meant, this recipe is not bland but VERY rich. I have served it to guests and they loved it. Although it makes your home smell like onion and that can be bothersome if you just cleaned.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Feb 2016
Reviewed by: immali
it turned out really well... everyone enjoyed this dish...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: Rebekah Rose Hills
This was a good dish - I found the extra steps involved a little strange and think you could probably get the same results by cooking the ground beef, sausage, onion, and garlic all together in the skillet, then adding in the remaining ingredients and simmering. I thought this was a fresher tasting Hamburger-Helper type dish and my son and I really enjoyed it! I left the cheese off of mine since I can't have dairy but otherwise followed ingredients and instructions - I added a little extra s&p along with garlic powder after taste testing before serving.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: zepriderr
This recipe was just.....ok. Like one user stated it is time consuming. Not a 5 star by any means.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: dianedsk
Years ago (like mid-1960's!), my dad found this recipe in one of those cookbooks you buy near the grocery checkout lines. We never made meat patties, and didn't use pimentos. The noodles are a little hard to get evenly brown, but I think that's what sets this dish apart. It's a tasty one-skillet dish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes