My Reviews (118)

Quick No Cook Icing

This recipe makes a very light and fluffy icing, perfect for an angel food cake, with very little effort. You can mix it up with peppermint or other essence.
Reviews (118)


06 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: JasminChappell
very much like meringue icing, only lighter and less overpoweringly sweet, so suitable for using loads and loads of it. It holds its shape very well, provided you let it get stiff enough- with my mixer, that was around 10 minutes. It doesn't leave you with the 'stomach full of fluff' feeling like some fluff icing does, which is nice. A bit of almond essence goes well with it
 
23 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: CONNIEJC
This icing is wonderful!! Very light and not too sweet! I think the trick is to beat the egg/sugar/cream of tartar mixture first before adding the boiling water. Then add the vanilla. We had no problem getting it fluffy as did the last review. Extra icing also stores well in the frig for later use.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: webwitch6
FANTASTIC! I didnt have any cream of tartar so I used salt and it came out fantastically. I had to beat it for about 3 minutes longer but WOW! It was gobbled up with requests for more. (I used it on deep dish brownies.) A keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 May 2006
Reviewed by: Erin
This is yummy! Very easy, too! I was a little worried when I put all the ingredients in the bowl and saw a brownish colored mess, but was more than pleased to discover that after some faithful beating, it turned into a beautiful, fluffy white icing! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: jules
this turned out so wonderful! right at the end of beating i added just about 1/4 package of lime jello mix. it gave the icing perfect amount of a lime flavor and a beautiful light green color. you can mix and match different colors and flavors to get some really great tastes! i am not a fan of frosting, so this was perfect for me on cupcakes!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: adg
i made this icing for angel food cake. very good!! would suggest storing iced cake in the fridge, as the icing "sweats" the sugar into a syrup on the bottom of the plate, when left out on counter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: TOVEFOSS
This took forever! I had to beat it for 35 minutes to get it anywhere stiff enough to frost a cake. Stiff peaks never did come into the picture. Absolute thumbs down.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: Yukon Cook
Wonderful! Very easy. I blended the sugar, egg white and creme of tartar together first, then added the boiling water. I had doubled the recipe, but there was no need as it made plenty. I was skeptical at first b/c it took a while. It took about 12 minutes with the stand mixer and turned out lovely. Make sure to serve the same day it's prepared. Will definitely use again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: TWIWI11
This is just like my Grandma used to make and I have been searching for this recipe for years. I halved this recipe and put 2 tablespoons of Marshmallow creme into the mixture. Turned out perfect and plenty for my Angel food cake. This is definitely a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: PONTIACGIRL71
I just made this icing and it turned out beautifully! I'm not sure if it matters or not but I had my ingredients (egg white) at room temperature (I put all the ingredients except water in a bowl while the cake was baking and cooling). I added a pinch of salt to the dry ingredients (1/8 tsp?), mixed the ingredients and then added the boiling water. I found it took about 5-6 minutes on medium / med-high speed (I started on medium for a few minutes and finished on med-high).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes