My Reviews (19)

Glace Fruit and Pecan Cake

This fruitcake is so sweet and yummy and it keeps indefinitely in the refrigerator, only getting better with age. Very simple to make, too.
Reviews (19)


06 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: MRS PEREZ
My mom died 9 years ago, and I didn't write down her Fruit Cake Recipe... Cathy Thank you, this was the one. It is the only Fruit Cake I eat and it is so easy that my 10 year old loves to make it. I just couldn't remember the amounts. Thank you for submitting it. Robin Perez
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: TLINSE
Was VERY rich. Not sure if I will make this again but I sliced it very thin (had to use a wet hot knife to get through it neatly) and spread it out among the gift goodie plates we give for Christmas. When I served some at a Christmas party it was eaten with the candy/Christmas goodies and seemed to be enjoyed - I got several positive comments. The flavor was very sweet - almost a candy cake rather than a fruit cake. Make sure you LOVE coconut before making this as it is a main contributor to the taste and texture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: SANNYGAIL
THANKS A MILLION FOR THIS RECIPE...I JUST MADE IT YESTERDAY AND IT'S THE BEST..EASY TO MAKE,TASTE GREAT..IF YOU READ THIS, PLEASE TRY THIS ONE....I WILL ALWAYS MAKE THIS FOR THE HOLIDAYS... THANKS AGAIN, SANDY
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: LOYAGIRLS
This is the BEST, try making it in Cupcake pans, its just perfect... Robin Perez gave me that suggestion and it turns out perfect each time... and to think her mom, Maudeen started it over 65 years ago, it is still the best fruit cake ever Thank You Cathy for printing it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Addie
This fruitcake is easy to make, but we probably will not give this one a go again. Coconut content very high, seems to attempt to replace some of the flour in this recipe, not necessarily for the better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: Diane from Florida
This is fantastic! It is very rich, so I tried to cut mine in as small of pieces as I could. I actually used a teflon coated roast pan and it worked out great. I highly recommend this recipe. I believe that people who don't like regular fruit cake will like this because it has the candied fruit in it, not the bitter tasting citron. This is a keeper for sure. Thanks for the great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Dec 2007
Wow! How easy is this!! I only had 1/2 the coconut, but it was more than enough. I made a 1/2 recipe and it made 22 cupcakes. Baked till brown on top, about 40 minutes and they are delicious! Great recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: SMIRWIN
Super easy, turned even the fruit cake doubter into a believer. And makes the cook look GREAT!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: CRZ
This is absolutely great! I made a third of the recipe, in a square pan, then cut it into pieces, so I had delicious bars!! love them!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Joyce Leslie
really like this recipe. Left out the coconut altogether though and it was fine without it. So it can be done however you like it. Yes it is rich, so a very small slice will do you. Thanks for this.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes