My Reviews (219)

Almond Custard Bars

These bars have three layers so they look like a lot of work but they're really not. They are simple to make and are a fantastic dessert for people with a sweet tooth!
Reviews (219)


21 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: Sherisse Lanser
Delicious and easy to make. I will definitely come back to this recipe next time I want to make Nanaimo bars!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: Jennifer Goss
I've made this recipe 3 times now, it's been a hit every time. It was a little difficult to find Birds custard powder here in Texas but I finally found it at World Market. Great recipe, Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: Tante Beth
Love this recipe. I was out of graham cracker crumbs so I used Oreo. Made them a bit richer. These are super sweet and rich. Cut the pieces small. But they are SO GOOD! A labour of love to be sure - they're a pain in the butt to do properly but very worth it if you love your husband as much as I do.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: Stacey Bailey
I loved it! a few changes. i didnt add butter to the chocolate for the top layer, i just melted double the suggested amount of milk chocolate chips. then scored into squares to make cutting easier. worked perfectly. i used the custard powder for the middle layer, not vanilla pudding. I live in Washington and i found it a cost plus world market. you cant find the custard powder in regular us grocery stores. so try a world market if there is one near you. i would like to make the bottom layer have a little bit of a crunch. im wondering if baking it, just like a graham cracker crust would help? it seemed too moist/chewy for me. and i think ill use walnuts instead of almonds next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: Ginu
I'm 12 years old and I made this recipe with ease! I didn't have a double boiler so I just stirred the ingredients and kept putting it in the microwave for 5 seconds then stirred it and repeated. It turned out sooooo tasty! I would put 1/3 cup less sugar in the filling and add it to the bottom layer. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: HKW
AMAZING!!! Taste exactly like my mother in law's recipe from Canada! I used a cheap vanilla pudding mix powder with excellent results myself. Highly recommended!! thanks so much for sharing this!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: Laura Fields
Rich - but just not like the ones I had before.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: KUNGAR
Excellent! Very rich. I doubled the recipe and made in a 8 x 13 pan. I also followed the suggestion of one of the reviewers and used the digestive wafers instead of the graham crackers. I'm from Texas, so this was an unfamiliar dessert to me, but I know I'll be making it again. The family loved!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: lisa
Easy to make and everyone liked this one
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes