My Reviews (219)

Almond Custard Bars

These bars have three layers so they look like a lot of work but they're really not. They are simple to make and are a fantastic dessert for people with a sweet tooth!
Reviews (219)


21 Jun 2015
Reviewed by: MissKitty
My husband loves these. I omitted the egg and used the microwave to melt the butter for the base and add all of the ingredients listed. I didn't add the ground nuts either. I also doubled the recipe and made 1/2 of the batch into mint Nanaimo bars (just added a little peppermint extract to 1/2 the filling and a tiny a little green food colouring). Instead of baking squares, I used an 8 oz bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips melted with butter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jun 2015
Reviewed by: Lily
This is an amazing Nanaimo Bar recipe. I followed the recommendations of other users and doubled the center layer and tempered the eggs, which worked out well. I would recommend to other users (or myself in the future) to double or triple the middle and top layers to create a nice, thick bar. I made these for a potluck event and was chased around for the recipe. Next time I may consider using half Graham Crackers and half Digestive Biscuits. Oh Canada, you never disappoint me!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 May 2015
Reviewed by: Daniqua
This was WAY too sweet.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: beauty1881
I skipped the nuts due to an allergy in the family, but otherwise made the recipe as written.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jul 2014
Reviewed by: Kristi Wilson
I am practicing to makes these for Christmas. My middle layer is completely blah. Should I expect it to be creamy? I thought it might be stiff since these are cut to individual bars. The taste is good, but the texture of peanut butter is a little strange. I had a nanaimo bar many years ago. I don't think the center should mush a little. I'm going to try again! The taste is very good. If you have any tips tweet me @ yagwit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jun 2014
Reviewed by: hungry
I made these at work and my boss who is a French chef liked them. He even requested it for another function - THAT says a lot!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Apr 2014
Reviewed by: zmcleod
This recipe has been in my family for over 30 years, and I can say it's as faithful to the original as it can be. Thanks for posting the recipe here! I was looking for a reference to the one I have and thankfully I found this one. Nanaimo bars are delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Feb 2014
Reviewed by: danelle
I used unsweetened coconut, chopped pecans in place of the almonds and cut the sugar down a bit in the middle layer. Doubled the middle and top layer as others suggested. Beat the egg into little spoonfuls of the middle layer to avoid the curdling issue others referred to. Not the best bar ever but definitely good enough to make again! We weren't sure what to expect with these so maybe they will grow on us more and more. Can't imaginer these without doubling middle and top layer
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: cjedriak
Bars turned out delicious! For the crust I used graham cracker crumbs and baby (arrow root) cookies, crushed in the food processor, as well as almonds! I found the crust to be nice and think but I think I needed a little more butter. For the filling, I used the custard powder which is key. I did not have any whole milk, only skim, so I used 3 tbs of Carolans Irish Cream which was a nice addition! I used an 8x8 glass pan and found I needed two more ounces or chocolate to make a full chocolate topping! Will definitely keep this recipe to make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: sremps
This was great! The filling was quite soft though, so I would consider using another 1-2 cups of icing sugar in the filling to make it a bit more firm. I also suggest doubling the topping as other users have suggested. My reviews were all fantastic still
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes