My Reviews (15)

Very Simple Peach Cobbler

To change this recipe to an apple cobbler, just substitute the tinned peaches for sliced apple. This recipe works well, both ways.
Reviews (15)


28 May 2010
Reviewed by: KatMac
This is a very old Southern recipe. Southern women have been making this dish exactly this way for centuries. it is absolutely DEE LISH. We often serve it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. This was the first dish I learned to make 51 years ago at the tender age of 5. Fresh nutmeg is best. If you don't have nutmeg on hand use the same amount of cinnamon. For a spicier style use ground ginger, again fresh grated is best. You can also use frozen defrosted peaches or any type of berries. Thanks for handing along a classic and preserving a great tradition.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Kristy Nordeen
Used a cast iron skillet. Didn't have self-rising flour, but my handy-dandy Betty Crocker Cookbook told me that a substitute for 3/4 cup self-rising flour is 3/4 cup all-purpose flour, 1 tsp baking powder, and 1/8 tsp salt. Used about 8 fresh nectarines instead of canned and sprinkled cinnamon and brown sugar on top.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 May 2010
Reviewed by: Timolyn
Nice quick recipe. The family loved this. I added a pinch of cinnamon and served it with cool whip on top.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 May 2010
Reviewed by: LWH
This is an easy and great summer dessert. Serve warm and add ice creme and its a hit!! I use suger/cinnamon combo generously in place of the nutmeg! Because the cobbler portion is rich, feel free to use other fruit , too--strawberries, blueberries, apples...its all good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Deborah Jacques
Wonderful, easy cobbler! My 8-inch pan was in the sink and I didn't feel like washing it so I made it in the 9x11 and yes, it was thin ... but turned out just great. I'll be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: roxz
There was entirely too much liquid for this recipe. My cobbler turned out as what can only be described as gelatinous. I double checked the recipe to make sure I didn't miss anything and I did not. Needless to say...I won't be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: KEVON
I've found to use 1/2 of the milk and 1/2 of the peach syrup to mix with the flour mixture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 May 2010
Reviewed by: Catherine Kokaska
If you use the juice from the can of peaches, what do you use when changing to apples ??
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: Baking Nana
This is an easy recipe to throw together. A little gooey and runny when warm but it tastes good. After chilling it forms a type of custard with the peaches and a cakey top. I am glad I made it, thank you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Nov 2017
Reviewed by: novelist53
This was delicious but I have given four stars because, as other reviewers have said, there is too much liquid. I halved the quantities anyway to make it for 4 not 8, so I only needed one tin of fruit, and I used only half of the juice in the tn. When baked it had a sticky, almost tatin quality, everyone loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes