My Reviews (16)

Hazelnut and Coconut Bars

These delicious muesli bars are a great lunch box treat and a little more special than the ordinary. Use almonds or macadamia nuts as a variation.
Reviews (16)


17 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Lauren
Your recipe was so beautiful and so adictive! I made it crunchy and non sticky by not adding as much butter and adding some bran too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: snufflufugus
Found these easy to make and really enjoyed the nutty taste and texture. I read how some of the reviewers found it too sticky, so I let it boil a bit longer then suggested to make it harden more. It was a bit greasy when first out of the oven, but when somewhat cooled, cut them up and put in a container. The next day they were hard without being too hard. Perfect. Also used "Trail Mix" (mixture of nuts-eg. peanuts, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, almonds, etc.) instead of hazelnuts and thought this worked really well. Will definitely make these again!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jun 2000
Reviewed by: Jin Ngee
Well, they did turn out OK. I modified it a little. Used a commercially prepared muesli mix and added 1/2 cup of self-raising flour. Turned out OK. Reduced the amount of honey to 1 tbs. This in a way reduced the stickiness. Refrigeration is a must for this bars. In the humid tropical heat here, they became very soft and attracted insects of every kind. First the ants came then the fruit flies then finally the spiders who came and ate up the earlier insects I used airtight bags to carry them around.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: LUTHIEN
Wonderful and completely addictive. I followed the recipe exactly, except I made them in an 8x8 pan. I didn't find them too sticky. They were easy to make, fast, relatively health and absolutely delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Erin
Excellent recipe! I have to agree, they are addictive! I added dried cranberries to the recipe, which added some colour and great flavour. Other dried fruit would work well too. I would try to decrease the butter next time as I found them a bit greasy, but not sticky. I would also experiment with maybe more nuts and coconut as opposed to the sesame to change the flavour up a bit. Thanks for this one!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Leah S.
I spread the misture out thinly onto a rectangle cookie sheet and they came out SO nicely. They were thin and crispy. Instead of the nuts and seeds we used a whole cup of coconut. My daughter, 8, loved them so much that she hoarded half of the pan to her grandma's house.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Zita
I couldn't take them out of the pan in one part.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: TheBritishBaker
Quite a nice tasting bar, I did cut down on the sesame seeds as I am not a big fan. Added chopped dried mango, dried plums and currents to give it a little bit more taste and texture. Wrapped them up in clear wrap for my husbands work colleagues. They were a little greasy like a few other cooks mentioned. I cooled in the fridge for 30 minutes before cutting, then placed on a paper towel to absorb an extra grease. I cooked mine for the minimum amount of time and pulled them out at the right time, any longer and they would have been burnt on the bottom.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jun 2000
Reviewed by: DEBNKEL
Found these delicious, but quite sticky..
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 May 2010
Reviewed by: MrsWifey/Mommy
My 10 year old son and I really enjoyed these, but my other kids didn't... Used Smart Blend instead of butter and walnuts instead of hazelnuts.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes