My Reviews (189)

Baked Mozzarella Chicken

Tired of simply pan-frying chicken breasts? Try this Italian recipe where they are pounded thin, rolled up with cheese, coated with breadcrumbs and baked in a wine and garlic sauce.
Reviews (189)


26 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: NoviceCook
Deliscous! A+++++ This was a definite hit at dinner last night. I made a few substitutions: shredded mozzarella for slices,1/4 c. butter instead of 1/2 c., italian bread crumbs, and chicken broth for white wine. Still came out wonderful. I baked it for the full 45 minutes for a crunchier coating. Also, I used unwaxed dental floss instead of toothpicks. Will make again and again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: doughgirl
This was terrific! I even passed it on to some of my friends. Instead of pounding chicken breasts, I always slice chicken horizontally to make two thinner breasts, which makes double the number of roll-ups. I made my own seasoned breadcrumbs by adding oregano, pepper, parsley, garlic powder, and parmesan cheese. Definitely will be repeated in our household. My husband and boys loved it! Thanks, Amber!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 May 2004
Reviewed by: COOKIN LADY
This was pretty good. Unfortunately, a lot of the cheese leaked out while it was baking. The pounding and rolling up of the chicken was a bit messy and troublesome- maybe next time I'll just cut each breast in half thickness-wise, and put the cheese in the middle. Also, the bread crumbs got a bit soggy from baking in the "sauce"- maybe next time I will fry them in some oil to crisp it up a little, and possible use a different sauce to bake them in. But the cheese inside was delicious! (PS I substituted chicken broth for the wine).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: Momof2
This was amazing. The only thing that I did differently was using fresh mozzarella. This will definately be a favorite in our house for a long time. Thanks for the post.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Nora
This recipe is great! I made it for a dinner party and added dethawed frozen spinach in the roll. Everyone loved it! I will definitely make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: LADYBUG727
I thought this dish was awfully labor intensive for the end result. My husband and I both ate it, but agreed that I probably won't make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: DONSSWEETY
I loved this recipe. I thought it was new and delicious. I have never cooked with wine, mainly because I was never old enough to buy it, but now I am and it was wonderful. It was a little time consuming the first time, but once you make it a few times it gets faster. Wonderful recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: A.F.
I made this without the sauce and used tomato sauce instead.. It was very good but a little bland, next time I'll use more spices in the breadcrumbs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: ANNALAURANELSON
This was delicious! I made a few healthy changes by using fat free shredded mozzarella and egg substitute. I also used marinara sauce instead of the white wine sauce. Definately will make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: unix_girl
very easy to make. similar to scampi. sauce is great. i served it in a bowl for dipping.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes