My Reviews (255)

Coconut Chocolate Bars

This recipe makes very delicious biscuit bars with a crunchy crust and layers of coconut and chocolate. Very easy to make!
Reviews (255)


13 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Verena
I woke up at six in the morning and felt the need to whip something up, and I came across this. It was super easy and soooo good!! Everyone fell in love with them. My husband, daughter and in-laws!! I can't stop picking at them, OMgoodness!! A keeper for sure. I will add this to my cookie platter, come Christmas. Love it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: SLJ6
Made these in an 11x7 pan instead of the 9x13 and I had no problem with these sticking together. They are delicious!! Made no changes at all except pan size. I did allow the chips to melt on top of the bars after I removed them from the oven and then spread that layer. After the pan cooled I also stuck it in the freezer to "set up" the chocolate quicker. Family loved these. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 May 2009
Reviewed by: Blazer
These are very similar to the Seven Layer Bars but without the nuts. You difinitely need a "sweet tooth" to eat these. I sprinkled the coconut over the top crust and then poured the condensed milk on top of the coconut as suggested by others, worked out fine. Will be serving these tomorrow, will update with people's opinions, one who will be my brother who loves Mounds candy bars. These were a huge hit at the christening. Thumbs up from here on this one
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Natalie
Messy, but tasted great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: StephanieLyn
This is a fabulous recipe for mounds lovers. If I hadn't been in such a rush to serve them at the dinner party I went to, I would not have put them in the fridge to cool more quickly. I agree w/the last review---it was hard to cut when the chocholate cooled compleltley. If they are allowed to set natuarally at room temperature, they would be much easier to cut and serve. I didn't drizzle the milk over the coconut like the other reviewers recommended, but I will next time. Sometimes I just have to learn the hard way! I did drizzle the melted chocolate over the top first, then spread it with a rubber spatula to cover the coconut. I brought the left-overs to work and made all the dieters angry; they are incredible!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: ROBYNBNB
Oh yeah, quick, easy and delish.....the chocolate hasn't set, but I couldn't wait! Only change was not to add any sugar to crust, sweet as is.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Margret
I just tried to make these bars and could not get the melted chocolate chips to spread. It cooled quickly and lumped up. I tried to spread it on top of the coconut layer, but it wasn't possible. I ended up scaping off the unspreadable chocolate lumps and converting the recipe to magic bars.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: DaniB.
This recipe is out of this world! So easy to make but looks like you fussed. I got rave reviews from all at cookie exchange. I made this 4 times already and will make many more. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Lisa
My mother has made these as long as I can remember-I'm 40. Her recipe calls for 2 tablespoons of creamy peanut butter in the chocolate. And I actually made them with dark chocolate chips and wow!! Makes them taste even richer.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: readernut
these tasted more like magic cookie bars, not mound bars.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes