My Reviews (19)

Coffee Rum Cake

There is no chocolate cake that can't be improved with the addition of a little coffee and rum! It's simple to make and very dense and rich.
Reviews (19)


13 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Melissa H.
Thank you thank you! I found this recip originally in a book of southern recipes and fell in love. Unfortunately over the course of several moves I lost the cookbook and for the life of me couldnt remember the exact amounts. I thought it lost forever until I came across this. Exactly the way I remember it except I always made it with Jim Bean, and instead of flour I dust my bundt pan with cocoa powder. I also always let it cool completely in the pan set up on a wire rack before trying to turn it out. Usually that will keep it from sticking but if not I slice it up, arrange them nicely and dust a little powder sugar on top.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: pmk
Excellent cake! Very rich, but not too sweet. A big hit the two times I made it. I definately needs to cool completely before you turn over the bundt pan. It's so moist it will come apart if it's not cool. We put the pieces back, topped the whole thing off with a chocolate ganache and went to the party! Didn't come home with any.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Czarna Owca
I've made this cake several times and it's always successful. Sometimes, I soak dried cherries in the rum (or whiskey) and add those in.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: klt1
I always make my cakes from scratch, and this one is definitely a keeper. This recipe makes a wonderfully moist, rich cake that is not too sweet. I used a 1/3 c rum. Next time I think I might add a light chocolate glaze over the top for a little extra sweetness.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: PinkPrincess
Excellent cake! I made it for a Valentines day treat. I didn't have dark rum, so I used light. Also I had semi-sweet chips, so I used those instead of unsweetened. It came out great! I also invented a fabulous glaze for it after looking in my cupboards: to one cup of powdered sugar add 1/2 t imitation maple extract (gives it a great caramel color), 1 t. rum, and enough cream to give it the desired consistency. It's so sinfully good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: irene hillier
I liked this recipe. It is thicker than sponge cake but not as dense or sweet as original mud cake. I followed the recipe to the letter except for increasing the amount of rum to 1/3 cup. Initially I was concerned about the runniness of the batter and thought maybe the amount of coffee mixture was way too much but it turned out quite nice. Baking time took about 15-20 minutes longer than stated and I did increase the temperature to 180 otherwise would have been in the kitchen all day! I let the baking pan rest for about 15 minutes before turning out the cake and it came out without breaking except for a small portion on the top, which I covered up with frosting anyway. Hubby loved it - he loves anything with chocolate - nice served with dollops of thick cream. I will make this again
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Feb 2001
Reviewed by: DDANCONA
Very good cake. Moist, rich, but not too rich, not too sweet, and verrrry chocolatey. I don't have a tube pan, so I made the cake in a 4 x 8 loaf pan - two of them, actually. I'd watch the baking time pretty closely. Also, this cake does not freeze well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jun 2000
Reviewed by: COLL
Carol, you are a genius. It is the most amazing chocolate cake I have ever eaten. My friends and family adore it too. It is now our special occassion cake. Thanks, Colleen
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: heidi41271
Fantastic! Very moist and dense. My Dad tasted the rum but not the coffee. I tasted the coffee but not the rum. I used espresso and it had an intense espresso flavor when it was warm. Cake was gone in two days so I'm not sure how long it would have stayed yummy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Caracola
Great chocolate cake! Very moist and rich, one of my favorite chocolate cakes. I dusted the pan with cocoa powder and topped with strawberries. I'm pretty picky about chocolate cake, and this is definitely a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes