My Reviews (29)

Slow Cooked Tomato Pasta Sauce

This classic Italian pasta sauce is best if cooked in a slow cooker for several hours, but can be done in as little as two on the stove. May be frozen for use later.
Reviews (29)


07 May 2013
Reviewed by: lovestohost4
Delicious! i cooked in the crock pot all day on low and came home to a wonderful sauce. I do like some chunks, so I added a can of diced tomatoes to my sauce. I also had to guess what the conversions were, as I'm in the US, and I translated them to crushed tomatoes, tomato sauce, and tomato paste.
 
05 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Jillian
The salt measurement is WAY TOO MUCH here. The submitter must have made a typo. There is NO way it should be 2 TABLESPOONS. I'm not even sure it should be 2 TEASPOONS. I used 1/2 tsp. of salt. I also did mine on top of the stove on low and let it simmer for four hours stirring occasionally. This is a five star recipe with a few changes besides the obvious salt. I used olive oil vs. canola - about half of that. In addition to the 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes I added a 28 oz. can of tomato sauce and used a 6 oz. can of tomato paste vs. the tomato puree. I also sauteed the onion in 3 cloves of garlic and left out the garlic powder from the sauce. I cut back the black pepper to 1/4 tsp. and added 1/4 c. of red wine. This is a wonderful thick, rich sauce. I served it with homemade meatballs and sausage. It's even better the next day!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: LovesCheese
This sauce was SO salty. I'm sure it is supposed to be 2 TEASPOONS of salt . . . I had to add tons of extra tomato sauce to try to neutralize it! Other than that, the flavor was very good. Also, it really doesn't need to cook 8 hours in the slow cooker, it was very thick and dark and starting to burn after 5 or 6.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: COGGANJ
Very tasty, but extremely salty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
This is simmering now. I used extra virgin olive oil instead of canola oil (I don't keep canola oil on hand) and I sauteed what my husband calls "a boatload" of garlic in with the onion instead of using garlic powder. I did not add all the salt or pepper called for, just a pinch of salt and a fair amount of fresh ground pepper. It smells great. Very simple to make. I'll update my review once we've tasted it with our meatballs. EDITED: Pretty good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Nancy Caron
We found this marinara to be the best yet. I doubled the recipe (except for salt) and tossed in the slow cooker a large bag of frozen meatballs. This was a "yummer!"
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Jennifer W.
Based on previous reviews, I changed salt to 2tsps instead of tablespoons. I LOVE this sauce! Ease of prep/cooking and it filled my kitchen with a wonderful Italian aroma for the hours it was in the crock pot. I doubled the recipe and it freezed well. This tasted like an authentic Italian sauce without the fuss. It is now my go-to marinara recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 May 2010
Reviewed by: SkyEyes
A great basic marinara recipe! I adjusted the salt to 2 tsp., as many other cooks did (pretty sure "2 Tbsp" is a typing error). Instead of garlic powder, I used frozen garlic cubes that I get from Trader Joe's (1 cube = 1 clove). Used 4 cubes, as we love our garlic. Accidentally left slow cooker on high for the first few hours, but after a good stirring & another hour & 1/2 on low, it was lovely & thick, with a rich tomato flavor.. so perhaps that was a happy accident, as we were able to eat a bit sooner. I'd actually cook it that way next time, too. An excellent topping for thick-gauge spaghetti, & wonderful partner for Meatball Nirvana meatballs (which are a *must-try*!).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: dekalija
Just made this and it is EXCELLENT!!! I agree that Emibanana must have made a typo with the salt measurement, so I used just 2 tsp. I was looking for a low-sugar marinara sauce, but of course can't find it ready made. So I made this without adding sugar, just a little Splenda (it probably really didn't even need that). If my basic math skills haven't failed me, my calculations say that this has less than 2 grams of sugar per 1/4 cup serving. Perfect for me. Plus MUCH better than any jar sauce I've tried!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: AZ
this was a very nice and simple sauce. I used a can of diced tomatoes and tomato sauce, as that was all I had, but the spice mix was just right. I finished it with a splash of balsamic vinegar - used this as the sauce for chicken parmesean. Thanks for the easy pantry alternative to storebought sauces
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes