My Reviews (35)

Milky Tropical Cake

This is a fruity tropical cake like no other! The ingredients are very simple but the secret is to let the milky icing soak into the cake.
Reviews (35)


11 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: CAROLYNN SISNEROS
I use a variation of this recipe and it is fabulous! I add all the listed ingredients together including the coconut and nuts, minus the milk. Bake for 40 minutes until carmelized/browning on top. Cool. Mix 2 cups powdered sugar with one 8oz package of cream cheese and frost. It's a huge family favorite.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Mar 2000
Reviewed by: HOLZBAURMOM
I really enjoyed making this cake. It stays in the pan it was cooked in and the toping just pours over the cake, no icing process needed. Everyone loved it and asked for it to be made again for the next day!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 May 2007
Reviewed by: PureGirl
Oh my goodness, this cake is to die for! I only put 1 cup of sugar in the cake and used regular milk in the sauce, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. My whole family loved this cake. Beware, it's addicting!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: FOXY1619
I searched for years before finding this recipe. This is my second time making it and the only change I've had to make is to increase the baking time by 15 minutes. Other than that this recipe is dead on. I don't normally have time to allow the cake to cool totally before pouring the sauce on but I don't think it really matters.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: CAROLANA
This was delicious, but very rich. I cut the sugar in the cake down by one cup and it was perfectly sweet. Don't make the mistake of undercooking the cake at all, as I did, or you will end up with a cake soup in the center. If you like moist cakes, such as Tres Leches, you will love this. Overall, it is excellent.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: LISASANDMIRE
excellent flavor, very moist, quick and simple recipe. even my husband, a pineapple and coconut hater, LOVED this cake. i will come back to this recipe whenever i need a "tropical" type of dessert.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: JNEFF143
This cake is DELICIOUS! I would compare it's texture to that of bread pudding because of its moistness. It should be served warm.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 May 2007
Reviewed by: canary
I was bored by the idea of beating the frosting and just poured it straight from the pan. I also only used one cup of sugar for the batter - and it turned out pretty much spectacular. It wasn't as soft as I expected - really moist, but still firm enough to not to fall into wet crumbs. Good stuff.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: COOKER20
Not at all what I was expecting. The cake was drenched in the milk sauce and was more like bread pudding - but extraordinarily sweet. I will not make again....sorry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 May 2005
Reviewed by: Cindy DeOms
Oh my, what a winner! This is simple and really good, the best combination for a recipe! Excellent choice for novice bakers. I used walnuts and put them in the cake batter, along with some coconut. I added even more coconut to the sauce (you can't really call it frosting), as well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes