My Reviews (12)

Mixed Seafood Cakes

If you want the perfect healthy and tasty dinner, try these mixed seafood cakes blended with fresh herbs and spices, lightly pan fried or grilled and served with lemon wedges and salad.
Reviews (12)


28 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: bombtree
This recipe was great! I too was forced to make substitutions due to budgets. I used a can of spicy thai tuna to replace the scallops and shrimp. I also added scallions and cilantro. I can't eat flour so i used oats instead of bread crumbs. They were absolutely superb! I look forward to using the original ingredients on my next attempt!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Daisy
I made a Poor-man's version of this - using an extra can of tuna instead of the shrimp and scallops...and a splash of spaghetti sauce instead of the tomatoes, and almost all dried seasoning...like I said: Poor-man's version. This probably didn't give your recipe much justice, but it was still really good, I'm glad to find a new way to eat tuna!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Lykke
If I can make this dish and get rave reviews anyone can since I rarely cook. I literally threw it together knowing I wouldn't have a second to spare to make it on time to a traditional Italian 7-fish-dinner Christmas Eve celebration with friends. I snuck 2 cakes before leaving my house -mmmm yummy. They were a smash success. I used the exact recipe above, except also added fresh dill. Easy and very, very tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: mrscrazyed
I had some scallops that needed to be used and was looking for something different. These were to die for! I used thawed shrimp instead of canned, cut back on the chile peppers ever so slightly and used Panko instead of regular bread crumbs. After sauteing the scallops and shrimp, I deglazed the pan with a little white wine and reserved that liquid. After cooking the cakes, I deglazed that pan with the reserved liquid, stirred in some cooked brown rice and served the cakes over the rice. Very tasty combination.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Gayle
We Loved this - I think they're better than crab cakes. Because of dietary restrictions, I substitued 1/2 cup eggbeaters for the one egg. I finely chopped the scallops before sauteeing, and substituted 8 large shrimp finely chopped & sauteed for canned shrimp. I added 1 tsp Dill and substituted 1/8 tsp Chili Power for fresh hot chile peppers. Instead of flour, I dipped the cakes in eggbeaters and dredged lightly in oats. Next time I'll add some chopped celery. Yum.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Ron
I use this recipe for my stuffed sole.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Tommy Detroit
really great recipe, we used fresh catch from fishing trip and it was great. Texture and spices were excellent and after lots of prep, the final product was easy to make just right.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: Terry Inskip
I have made these several times, skipping the scallops as they are hard to find here in Finland. They are excellent. I have made them with pollock and cod instead of tuna and they are great. I just season and grill the fish and flake it as I would the tuna. My only advice if you have kids is to lower the garlic, 4 cloves is quite a bit for most kids.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: Gloria Wirhowski
Love it! Prepared exactly as is and my husband said it was very good. This is one way to get him to eat his fish. Thanks for posting because I will be making this part of my regulars.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jan 2017
Reviewed by: pajeen
This recipe has become a staple I make every few months. I use 4 cans of tuna and use crushed rosemary and olive oil triscuits instead of bread crumbs. I am sure the recipe is delicious as is I made the alterations due to what I had available in my kitchen. I serve them with my homemade remoulade sauce. 1 cup of mayo, 1 tbs ketchup, 1 tbs Creole mustard, 1/2 stalk finely diced celery, 2 tbs finely diced onion, 2 cloves diced garlic, a dash of cayenne and a couple dashes Tony Cachere's and fresh ground pepper to taste. They're a huge hit every time I make them and my friend from up north even said he prefers these fish cakes over traditional crab cakes!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes