My Reviews (41)

Baked Salted Cod with Eggs

This is a Portuguese dish called bacalau made of salted cod. Great for parties! Plan ahead, because the salted cod needs to soak for 24 hours.
Reviews (41)


26 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Fancy Pants
OH MY GOSH! This was unreal! I followed the recipe exactly except I omitted the chopped eggs and olives for garnish. The real name for this recipe is actually 'Bacalhau à Gomes de Sá'. I am Portuguese (my entire family was born and raised in Portugal) and when I told my mom I was making this dish she got so excited! She told me she hadn't had it since she lived in Portugual over 42 years ago! This dish was soooo incredible and tasted so much like something that my Portuguese family would make. Thank you so so much for posting this delicious, authentic recipe, BINGADING!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: llharvey622
Delicious! I used fresh cod instead of salted, and added salt. My wife, she is Portuguese, loved this recipe. I will be making it for her as often as she will like. Thank you for sharing it with us.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: SENIORGAL
Out of all the recipes I've seen on the internet, yours was the only true one that had the black olives which is always used in this dish in the Azores. Thank you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: neska
I'm so glad I tried this recipe. By far, one of the best I've found on allrecipes.com. I had to make a few changes based on what I had in the house. I used fresh cod and boiled it in heavily salted water, and added some salt to the parsley/olive oil mixture. I also used red potatoes since that's what I had on hand. I followed the rest of the recipe as-is. The flavors were absolutely outstanding. I love that it's so healthy, too. I *never* go back for seconds on dinner, but I did with this one. My husband said he could survive on this dish alone. It's honestly so good, I almost felt guilty taking credit for it! Thanks for contributing this one.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: lola2337
Where is the cheese in this recipe? What kind? how much?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Liana
Mmmm tastes like tradition! Personally I find the dried, store bought bacalau tougher/chewier in this dish. Therefore I use (heavily salted) fresh cod instead of dried bacalau. Also, I sliced the potatoes prior to boiling them. The way I see it … slicing raw potatoes is easier than slicing potatoes that are mostly cooked. My father-in-law is from the Azores Islands and he LOVES this dish! Looks like I’ll be making this dish often instead of the in-laws ordering it from the European catering place down the street. This is a keeper!! :-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 May 2007
Reviewed by: jakenamy
I made this for my husband's Portuguese family and they all said that it tasted better than any other Bacalau recipe they have ever had. They couldn't believe how good it was! Thank you for an awesome recipe. There wasn't any left after the party! The only things I changed: I used 5 potatoes instead of 4 and double the onions from 2 to 4.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Gida
I made this for my parents who are both from Lisbon, Portugal...and boy did I impress them! Thank you so much! As another reviewer mentioned, my parents said this dish is traditionally called Bacalhau à Gomes de Sá. This is a keeper and I'll be making years to come, especially for family gatherings. Thank you again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: mharvey622
This was the best dish I have ever had. I'm Portuguese but don't even know the name for this dish. I've had it before, but this is by far the best and the most delicous. We will definitely be making this over and over, please share more of your delicious Portuguese recipes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 May 2010
Reviewed by: PeggySue
Good job on this recipe. My Italian family really liked it and so did I. I used exact measurements of everything and prepared with only one exception- I soaked the cod in the frig for 4 days changing the water every day. Next time I'll cut down on the olive oil, but everything else do just the same as I did today. Very nice diversion for Friday's fish dinner!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes