My Reviews (30)

Egg Noodle Casserole

This casserole is just different enough from a regular pasta bake to waken your tastebuds! Great for informal dinner parties and gatherings.
Reviews (30)


25 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: texasmama
I lightened up this recipe with lean ground beef, fat free sour cream, reduced fat cream cheese and fat free cottage cheese---it was still very good--very rich. I think next time I will use a little more spice in the meat mixture ie garlic and perhaps use a little less cheese mixture. Overall it was very good and my husband told me I could make this anytime for him--it's true--men do love it!!!! Thanks for an easy good recipe!!!! After ligthening it up--it was only 6 weight watcher points for a serving and very filling!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: mnkgj2008
This is a great "poor-man's" lasagna. The only item that I found a bit overpowering (eventhough I measured correctly) was the cinnamon. I would try this recipe again only without the cinnamon. Overall, very tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Chris S
This is creamy delicious stuff when made according to the recipe. I have been making this for years. It is high in fat, but it is easy and inexpensive, and it is true, Men do love it! I suggest to everyone that you make it as written. I too wanted to doctor up the tomato sauce, but when you do that you loose the lovely green onion flavour that should be the star in this recipe. I also use real butter, and omit the green peppers. Try it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: Chelsey Wolnowski
Very good. I made a more hearty spaghetti sauce then this recipe called for. (using garlic, herbs and spices, ect) I also added about 1 cup of grated Monterey jack cheese to the filling, and I topped it with grated cheddar. Hearty and good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Kelly E.
Although this recipe was easy to prepare, the dish did not have much flavor at all. Sorry but I don't think I would make it again. If I were I would use salsa instead of tomato sauce for an extra boost
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: BECCAP
I used ground chicken and Penne pasta because that was all I had. I also substituted the new Campbell's creamy ranchero tomato soup for part of the tomato sauce and left out the sour cream. Might need to season the meat a little next time, some paprika or garlic maybe. Overall, it was good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Dee352008
I omitted the butter totally. Didn't see any need for it at all. I added 1 tbsp of garlic, tsp oregano, and parsley, 1 cp ricotta cheese in place of the cottage cheese,and 3/4 cp sour cream for the cheese mixture. I mixed in 1 can rotell with 1 1/2 lbs of ground meat instead of the 1 lb ground meat. I layered the nooodles, cheese mix, and meat, topped with mozzerella cheese, then repeated a second time. Left everything else the same in the recipe! I did let it sit for about 15 minutes to cool. YUM YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: WARLICK
A must on anyones rotation. Easy to make, everyone likes it...GREAT comfort food. I love this dish even though it's not the most beautiful on the table. Kids favorite!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: ltlmsmfft
This is a real crowd pleaser. In my house the "crowd " is me and my 9 yr old son and it's hard to please both of us. Since I am under doctors orders to eat low fat, I used extra lean ground turkey, fat free cottage cheese, low fat sour cream and only 4 oz of low fat cream cheese and it was still good! Next time I will add a few spices since it is a bit bland using so many low fat ingredients; but, it's still great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: ALD0014
I really wanted to love this. I thought I would. I definitely didn't. I thought it had way too much of the cottage cheese mixture. I thought it could use an extra pound of ground beef and a can of petite diced tomatoes in the sauce. Some seasoning in the sauce, some sugar, salt, pepper, oregano. And I would cut the cottage cheese and cream cheese in half. I will try it again that way and see how I feel about it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes