My Reviews (28)

Chocolate Chip Biscuits with Bacon

You might be surprised but the inclusion of chocolate chips and maple together in a whipped batter - with bacon - make this biscuit recipe a treat!
Reviews (28)


23 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Bettina Ho
this is a good base recipe however I highly recommend you do the following add 1/2 cup of flour (2 1/2 cups of flour total), add 1/2 tsp of baking powder (1 1/2 tsp of baking powder total), add a tablespoon of bacon grease (reduce butter to 3/4 c of butter), and add 1/4 c of bacon (1/2 cup of bacon total). also its really important to have this batter chilled so it doesn't spread when you bake it. my friends LOVED my cookies. i hope this helps people out.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Keni
Okay, let me first say that the only real issue I had with this recipe didn't involve the bacon! It was something like eating a chocolate chip pancake with syrup and a side of bacon. I wasn't put off by it, at all. Just make sure to cook the bacon crisp, crumble and drain well. However, I had to add more flour to this recipe. There isn't a high enough chip/dough ratio as written, to help hold the dough(only I used a mix of white and milk chocolate chips) and my first batch spread so much they LOOKED like the aforementioned pancakes. So, I just added another 1/4 cup flour, remixed and refrigerated it for a bit. The rest of the cookies were fine. Even though, as written, these just weren't the right consistency, I'm still giving it a 4 because the flavor which, to be honest, is likely what most folks will question, was good. A very rich cookie with a fun "don't tell them" ingredient.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 May 2009
Reviewed by: Sweets
These were very good. A few changes that I made: First, I candied my bacon. Lay out 5 strips of bacon on a foil-lined cookie sheet (preferably one with sides) and sprinkle with light brown sugar (about 2tsp per piece of bacon.) Bake at 400 degrees, turning once. Once the candied bacon is cool, crumble into bits. Also, I could not find maple extract in my grocery store, so I used pure maple syrup that had been infused with cinnamon. It made the batter delicious! Lastly, I did not have a stand mixer available when I made these, so I made them by hand. I let my butter get extremely soft, then whipped it with a whisk for several minutes until it got very light in color. Then added the other ingredients as called for. There is a high fat to flour ratio in this recipe, especially with the bacon in it (even if you drain the bacon, there will still be a bit of grease that will get in the batter) so these cookies spread out quite a bit and get very flat. Next time I might add a little more flour to try and even out the fat/flour ratio. Overall, a good (and very different!) cookie.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: TarynEileen
So I love this cookie recipe. With a few adjustments they were exactly what cookie should be. Slightly crisp on the outside and soft and chewy on the inside. I added 1/2 cup of flour and 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder, this controlled the overspread of the cookie. I also used a lot more bacon and chocolate than called for. Instead of using the maple extract I just smothered the bacon in maple syrup and brown sugar when I cooked it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: LittleChef
The only issue with this was that the recipe simply did not call for enough bacon. If you didn't crumble it enough, the bacon bits were few and far apart. I would use equal parts chocolate chips and bacon. :D GO BACON!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Cookie Momster
These are good as a novelty cookie. The maple extract added a very nice aroma. Although I followed the recipe to the letter, the cookies spread more than my normal recipe for chocolate chip cookies, so I made the rest of the cookies smaller after the first batch was done. I chopped the bacon into bacon bit size. You really could not taste the bacon in the final product.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: jessjoto
I added butterscotch chips in place of the maple flavoring and my husband said they were great. Also, if you crisp the bacon and drain it very well, the cookies will be fluffier.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: JJ
Best chocolate chip cookie recipe ever. Best cookie recipe ever. My friends went nuts over these. The only thing I changed was I used rum extract in place of the maple because I couldn't find maple extract anywhere and I used an entire bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips. You might think that would make them too "chippy" but it did not. As a matter of fact, I think anything less that a full bag will leave you a little short in the chip area. Delicious. The best ever. Really, reall great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: mghankins
I made these while in the mountains for Thanksgiving. I stored them in a glass container on the counter. My husband said he wants them in a jar on the counter every day.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Rachel
OMG!! I got alot of sideways looks offering these but not one complaint. So fun So good. I would go less on the chocolate more on the bacon but that's just me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes