My Reviews (8)

Brown Sugar Maple Icing

This icing takes a little more trouble to make but is well worth it. Brown sugar, maple syrup (genuine if possible!) and walnuts are a great combination.
Reviews (8)


30 Dec 2015
Reviewed by: krazee
This could be better - it didn't thicken at all, so could only be drizzled over the cake as a very sweet sauce.
 
21 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: veggienb
Excellent recipe, very light and fluffy with lots of maple flavor! Substituted the cream of tartar for vinegar (3X amt of tartar amt) since I did not have any and was still great! Loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: Robin Gail
This was good but a little sticky rather than peaky. I doubled the cream of tarter and that helped it peak more. I also removed it from the double boiler once everything was thickening up. I put it on a Black Walnut cake and my husband loved it. Garnished with walnuts on top of frosting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Lisa B.
Very tasty! I'm waiting to put it on the brown sugar brownies that are cooking and I can't stop eating it. It has a nice, light flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: TALLONES
A very simple, easy recipe for a yummy frosting. Thanks Carol!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: Jennifer Novicky
Made today for my boyfriend's bday. He is on a low cholesterol diet and this recipe was just right. The only thing I changed was I replaced the vegetable oil with plain applesauce. I also made cupcakes instead of cake. Cooked at 350 for 18 minutes. Came out of the oven chocolatey and moist. I think they will be a big hit.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jun 2016
Reviewed by: heather1411
Made this to put on a spice cake for my Mom's birthday. Everyone raved over it and said how great it was! They were even talking about putting the left over frosting on top of waffles the next morning!?? Thanks for an awesome recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2015
Reviewed by: Bonnie Gorshe
Easy, light and fluffy, with a good flavor. You need to be ready to use it the minute it's done because the texture starts to change in the pan pretty soon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes