My Reviews (8)

Mandel Bread

This is a recipe for a twice-baked Jewish bread also called Mandelbrodt. It is quite similar to biscotti, which is also twice baked, but is more substantial.
Reviews (8)


08 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: gayle
These are absolutely delicious...I followed the recipe closely with some minor modifications. The dough is sticky and they spread, so be careful when you place them on cookie sheet. I added extra almond extract (about 1/2 t) and toasted them (after cutting) longer than the recipe indicated. The flavor and texture was unbeatable. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: GEFFRIC
I have made this recipe many times and it is excellent. Tastes very much like the ones my grandmother used to make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: REBEKAH39
THESE WERE SUPURB! U GOTTA TRY EM! :-)))))
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: NSTARK
Perhaps a little bland as is - dipped in chocolate makes a big difference.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Mar 2018
Reviewed by: Marsha
I am giving this four stars because the recipe was a bit hard to follow. The cookies deserve five, though! Very tasty. First of all, read through it a couple of times. Some of the ingredients should be listed as 'divided', so people won't just go ahead and use them all at once. Plus, the recipe never said when to add the baking powder! So I added it to the flour after I took out the 1/4 c. that I added to the almonds. I also added the whole 1 1/4 c. of sugar to the dough, since the recipe didn't say what to do with the other 1/4 c., unless it meant to use all of that to sprinkle on top before baking, if I wanted to (which I didn't.) This dough is very sticky, and that should have been mentioned, along with what to do about it (I sprayed my hands with Pam spray, but a little extra flour might have been ok too). And I certainly didn't get 8 portions that were 8" long and 3" wide. I had 7 portions, 6 of which were 8" long and about 2" wide, and one portion that was about 5" long. In any case, these are really good, and I will make them again, using the changes I made. One more thing, I cut straight across, the way I do all my mandel bread recipes, rather than diagonally.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Mar 2018
Reviewed by: Carm Moscarello
Excellent
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jun 2016
Reviewed by: Bren
Pretty good MandelBread but I thought that they could use a tad more flavour, perhaps more almond extract. Cooking time and temp were bang on. I sprinkled these with raw sugar before the second bake. Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: twokittiestoo
I've tried this recipe 3 times and love love love it. I guess step 2 is where you add the baking powder? It's a great recipe. I share it with my friends and they keep wanting more LOL. However, the dough is so thick that the beaters on my mixer barely turn. If I had a good mixer I'd make this all the time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes