My Reviews (153)

Easy Coconut Walnut Bars

This recipe is from my grandmother and it is super simple to make. Walnuts, chocolate, coconut and condensed milk combine to make a great bar.
Reviews (153)


03 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: schmerna
A friend made these for a party and they were great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Peytonje
Double the crust, but not the butter. You really only need about 3/4 C. butter/marg if doubling the crust. Thoroughly mix, then press into pan. Pour 1/2 can condensed milk on crust, layer remaining ingredients as directed, and top with remaining 1/2 can of condensed milk. I also doubled the chips and did 1/2 chocolate, 1/2 butterscotch. These disappeared almost immediately at my company's holiday bake sale.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: sm1983
These were so delicious! We couldn't stop eating them. I mixed the margarine and crumbs before adding it to the pan. I added some more graham cracker crumbs, about 2 1/2 cups total and didn't pour the entire can of milk, just left about a quarter out. it took me some strength to cut these up into bars and take them out of the pan. Will make these again, for sure! thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Nicole N.
Very versatile recipe!! If you're finding it too sweet, I put Old Fashioned Oats in mine, and it tames the sweetness a little bit. Great recipe, because I was able to put a bunch of random items that have been sitting in our cupboard for a while: stale graham crackers, chocolate chips, chopped pecans, oats. Left out the coconut because we didn't have any and it's still delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Lisabags
These were delicious! The only change I will make is, next time I will melt the butter and mix graham cracker crumbs first and definitely pour milk over top. My crust fell apart where there was not enough butter. Overall, everybody loved them!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: bakerdulce
I have been making these for as long as I can remember around the holidays. These were definately a staple in our house! We did, however, use a slightly different recipe. We used semi-sweet chocolate and peanut butter chips. This gives it a not so in your face chocolate taste. We also used more graham cracker crumbs and packed it to make a thicker crust and poured the condensed milk over that, THEN added the toppings. If you decide to make these, I highly recommend using the peanut butter chips!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: IRISHDAUD
I used these tips from another reviewer: Tips - Mix the margarine/butter and graham cracker crumbs together to make a firmer "crust". (My family also melts the margarine in the pan in the oven.) - Pour the condensed milk on the graham cracker crumbs BEFORE adding the other ingredients. It seems to make everything stick together better and it makes it so much more presentable! - Use more than 1 cup of chocolate chips.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Loree86
Next time I will mix the crumbs and butter together, then press in bottom of pan.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: bevvie
I made these today for a camping trip we're taking this week. I used about 2 1/2 cups of graham cracker crumbs to make more of a sturdy crust. I also poured half the can of milk over the crumbs and the other half over the top once everything was in. They came out great. After cooling for an hour they cut easily and look really great. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Dec 2000
Reviewed by: LITTLEWOOD26
Mmmmm, I'm eating one as I type.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes