My Reviews (52)

Italian Chocolate Cake

This is a family recipe we make at Christmas. As a nice variant, try adding 1/2 teaspoon almond essence to the icing. Almond and chocolate go so well together!
Reviews (52)


06 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Sheri S.
Very good chocolate cake! It's definitely much better than a cake mix! I didn't have cake flour and found that I could use 1 3/4 c. of all purpose flour and 1/4 c. of cornstarch as a substitute for the 2 cups of cake flour. I also couldn't find Dutch process cocoa powder at the store. It can be substituted with unsweetened cocoa. The substitution is as follows: for every 3 TBS. of unsweetened cocoa powder, add 1/8 tsp. of baking soda.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Dec 2000
Reviewed by: CHANTAL GALLOWAY
I usually make a chocolate cake using a box and adding pudding but decided to try to make one from scratch this year. I have dear friends that just love a good chocolate cake. I tried this recipe and and WOW! It was melt in your mouth delicious. The frosting was nice and thick and easy to spread. I have never had frosting turn out so well. I made a two layer quarter sheet cake because the single layer looked a bit small. The two layer was a giant and perfect for Christmas dinner! It was a little time consuming to make but well worth it. I made it a day ahead and it was perfect! I can not say enough good things about this cake!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: hypnotista
I really loved this recipe and so did my boyfriend, his coworkers, and my clients. Yesterday, a client to whom I gave a cupcake version two weeks ago came back and raved! A couple of notes- the texture of this cake was interesting..very fine with concentrated flavor without being heavy. It was not the fluffy cake you'd get from a box...more refined and substantial like all the good things of an old fashioned cake combined with the moist, denseness that hinted at a flourless cake (but again, not heavy like that and not thick...like a silk texture). I followed the recipe to a tee, except that I substituted hot, very strong coffee for the water, and used ghiradelli unsweetened cocoa with baking soda to substitute for the dutch process cocoa (the baking soda comps for the alkali in dutch process) The use of the coffee and gourmet cocoa most likely enhanced the flavor of the cake greatly. I used the recipe to make cupcakes baked for 39-40 minutes at the prescribed temperature. They came out perfectly..nice and springy-light. The frosting was a lovely recipe...not too sweet, but still quite decadent. I am not much for super sweet frostings, so that affects my assessment. There was frosting left over, and my bf threatened to eat it with a spoon. This will be one of my "secret weapon" chocolate cake recipes for sure!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: thecakelady
OH MY. What a delicious, special dessert. I added about 1/2 tsp almond to both the cake batter and the frosting. Very similar to Molten Choc Cakes in taste and texture, but easier to do in a 9x13" pan. A perfect addition to our Italian "dinner and a movie" night - Shrimp Scampi, fresh pasta, and "The Godfather".
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: OHEATHER10
After making this cake a second time and following the directions to the letter(with the slight exception of adding a 1/4 cup more dutch processed cocoa to the batter)I still have to say this is THE BEST CHOCOLATE CAKE I HAVE EVER HAD. I love it without the frosting, but with a layer of it, it's over the top chocolatey. WOW, am I glad I have this recipe. Some people have remarked about the 300 degree temperature. Trust me, if your oven is accurate it turns out perfect. ENJOY.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Mar 2000
Reviewed by: VONDERGIRL
This cake tasted sinful. It was very moist and rich. I used it to make a four layer cake for my husband's college graduation party and everyone requested to take home the leftovers.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: MARY P. MCCLURE
I must say, the cake IS worth the effort of making it. It was very moist and had a good rich chocolate flavor. I would make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: willowwishfree
awesome!! completly worth the shopping trip and effort, paired it with my great grandmother's fudge frosting and white chocolate drizzle, and doubled the recipe, and did it up proper, as a layer cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: Annette
I didn't like the way this cake tasted at all. The frosting was too cocoa tasting and the cake was a dry texture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: NICEGIRL512
I, too, substituted yogurt for the sour cream, I used nonfat. For a relatively lowfat cake (only 1 stick butter, no egg yolks and nonfat yogurt) it was good, but not as moist as I would like. This may be my fault because when it wasn't remotely done after 50 minutes in a 300 degree oven I pushed up the heat to 350 for ten minutes, and I might have overbaked by two or three minutes. It does seem to be a little more moist the second day. All my guests said the frosting made the cake, rather than vice-versa. I used the Chocolate Cheese Frosting recipe from allrecipes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes