My Reviews (43)

White Fish with a Macadamia Crust

Here's a delicious and simple recipe for white fish is coated with a chopped macadamia nut mixture and grilled. Serve with white rice.
Reviews (43)


29 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Kathy F
I've made countless recipes from this site, but this is the first time I have reviewed a recipe. I don't really care for fish much, but I've decided to eat it for my health. Looking for a recipe with ingredients I had on hand, I found this one. I can't get over how good it was. I absolutely loved it! To save money, I only used half of the macadamia nut mixture, but it would have been wonderful with the whole amount. I covered the fish with tin foil and put the fish in a 400 degree oven for 7 minutes. Then I put the paste on the fish and returned it to the oven (w/o the foil) for another 7 minutes. Don't overcook! Trust me, you will love this recipe. I can't wait to make it for my friends! Thanks so much for this recipe!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: kristi
If you follow the recipe to broil the fish, the topping will burn right away. I would recommend baking the fish at a high temperature with the topping vs broiling.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Pat Turner
This was incredible! It had a great flavor was easy to make. Everyone in my family loved it! I made a couple of small changes, I only used half of the nuts to make the paste and chopped the rest to sprinkle on the top. I baked it at 400 instead of broiling, my broiler is out of commision, and it still browned the nuts on top.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Doreen's Recipies
Listened to others and baked the tilapia for 10 minutes at 400F. Also, I assembled a marinade from 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil, 3 crushed cloves of garlic, 4 squirts of soy sauce and a pinch of old bay seasoning. I spread this over 4 fillets and let it sit in the fridge for 2 hours before cooking. Came out fantastic.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: LearningToCook
This was really good. Tilapia is such a mild fish and the nut crust gave it a good flavor. I didn’t have any macadamia nuts so I used pecans instead and it turned out just great. Like others suggested I baked the fish at 400 for about 10 mins and then broiled the fish for about 3 mins to make the topping nice and crispy. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: nivram
Like some others, I baked vs. broil. Turned out great. Wife loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: The Prothro's Kitchen
I cooked the fish way less than the suggested 15 minutes, I only cooked it 6 minutes and I think anything more might have overdone the fish. It was wonderful! I just wish the actual fish had more flavor. Next time I plan on marinating the fish to give it more flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: carly
I baked this at 400 as one other reviewer did! It came out so good that my husband said ' I wish I made this one so I could still be the better cook'.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: mrsmaryj
Very good! Though I added some water to the topping, it was almost too thick to spread. I think next time I may use only 6 oz of nuts, there was a little too much topping compared to fish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: GSWOODY
This was really good! I followed the advice of others and baked it at 400 degrees for 10 minutes and then broiled it for 2 minutes under the broiler to crisp up the crust a little. I also reduced the amount of Macadamia nuts to about 5 ounces, but I may reduce it even further the next time because I really couldn't taste much of the other ingredients. My husband suggested adding more hot sauce next time, but he really likes things spicy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes