My Reviews (109)

Fresh Lemon Bars

Lemon bars are a wonderful snack in summer. This delicate treat is made with fresh lemon and icing sugar. Wonderful with tea.
Reviews (109)


30 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Caryl
The lemon filling was excellent! I loved it. The crust had a real good flavor, but was VERY crumbly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: themrs720
Ok. Guess I messed this one up. To me, the bars tasted like a big pile of flour...maybe I didn't back the first part long enough (It was browned, though). I also thought it needed more "goo" aka lemon mixture. Very disappointed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: katiemaytoo
This was good, but not great. Some reviewers said too lemony, some said not enough, so I made it as-is. It was not terribly lemony, I would like it more lemony, but that's my taste. Also, some reviewers said there wasn't enough lemon topping - I agree. I would double that next time. But they were good and everyone I shared them with liked them, I had just hoped for something a little more tart and with at least as much lemon stuff on top as crust.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: ths117
After reading the reviews that said that crust and/or filling should be doubled, I actually made the recipe as suggested, but put it in a 9x9 pan. Worked out fine, though I'll definitely double the filling next time for more gooey lemon. FYI, it is a very custardy looking bar, but tastes great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: three-peas
I followed the recipe exactly, but doubled the lemon top and found the crust's taste to be bland and lost in the filling. The lemon was more gel-like rather than creamy like I was looking for. It did have good lemony flavor though. I probably will look for another recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: 177arie
This recipe was yum! I have a Meyers lemon tree in my backyard and needed something to make with them. I doubled the lemon juice and the powdered sugar in the filling.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: MayoBlues
These were quite good, but the crust got very crumbly after they cooled.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Danielle
Delicious! Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 May 2008
Reviewed by: miss jay
my first time making lemon bars from scratch and the family loved them. they were a little thinner and crisper than I remember eating as a kid, but we ate half the batch in one sitting, so I can't complain. Next time I think I will double or at least 1 1/2 the amount of lemon filling, but it was a hit regardless!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Kim
This was recipe and it was pretty easy with few ingredients. I liked the crust it was crumbly and delicious. I would have baked it maybe 20 mins rather than 25 however. I did have to double the filling because I had to use a 9x11" pan but it was ok. I think it was just a tad too lemony and I would have taken about 1/4 of the lemon zest out. Otherwise it was good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes