My Reviews (9)

Egg Noodle Pudding

This Jewish side dish called kugel which is commonly served with roasted chicken for Friday night (Shabbat) dinner. It's also a great accompaniment to any meat.
Reviews (9)


10 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: LucyDelRey
I found this dish to be excellent and serves as a great basis for a kugel. Every Jewish family makes it differently ex. dairy, no dairy, sweet or savory, raisins no raisins, etc. I reduced to 1 onion and added 1 pint (2 cups)of cottage cheese, 1 cup sour cream and no bread crumbs (VIEW MY PHOTO). Depending on your dietary guidlines or preference, the recipe is very flexible. I also serve this with a roast chicken or beef brisket. Thank you Goldie for the recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: Mallinda
I was disappointed in this. It was too dry, and in spite of all the onion, I thought it lacked flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Josef Olijnyk
We made it with fewer onions and in a smaller dish, was tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: SUSANOLSON
The recipe should have called for sour creme or something to take away from the dryness.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: BARBWALKER00
After reading the reviews of being dry - i added 1/2 cup of Kosher Chicken Broth to the onions then mixed everything together in the bowl. I was also liberal with the salt/pepper and only used 3 onions. But it turned out moist. Good non-dairy Kugel.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: lowcal-cook
I made some helpful, healthy changes. I used whole wheat noodles, used 8 egg whites,I added some seasoned salt and omitted the breadcrumbs. The most important thing I did was COVER the baking dish! It kept it all soft instead of making the tops all hard and inedible. My 5 year olds loved it as well as my baby
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: StL Nell
I thought it was a little dry, but some family members loved it. I would make again but try to figure out how to give it a little more moisture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Oct 2015
Reviewed by: moelevine
Good recipe. I suggest reducing the amount of onion to 1-2 onions max or skip all together. I just thought that this much sautéed onion overpowers the dish making it sweet instead of salty as it is supposed to be. Also skip the paprika. That really doesn't present it right.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: plantbased
This was pretty tasty, but I didn't put enough salt and pepper in it. Next time I'll try about 1/2 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp pepper. Also, it was just a bit dry. I think it needs a little liquid, maybe a little broth or cream. I will definitely try again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes