My Reviews (19)

Very Lemony Sponge Cake

Sponge cake gets its delectable texture from the egg that foams while baking. This lemon cake recipe is about 60 years old.
Reviews (19)


07 Oct 2000
Reviewed by: LLHAGEN
Finally...a quick,easy and lovely Sponge Cake! Carol, Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I have been looking for a good recipe that doesn't require the separation of eggs. Instinct told me this one would work, and it did beautifully. For a plain sponge, replace the lemon exract with vanilla.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: CUBIKG
If you are looking for a nice spongy cake, this is not it. I followed the recipe to a T and I did not care for this. Very disappointed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Jacqueline
This is the first sponge cake I have cooked that has not been a packet mix. It was easy and turned out great, nice and light, moist and tasted fantastic. I sliced it in half and served it with cream and jam in the middle I will be cooking more of my own cakes in future, as it is not as difficult or time comsuming as I imagined. The only thing I did differently with this recipe was I beat the egg yolks and white separately and folded into mixture. Thankyou Carol for inspiring the home baker in me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: WHATAYAWANT
This turned out quite good.I only cooked it for 35 minutes and it perfect then.I can imagine what it would have been like if I kept it in for the time stated in the recipe.Also the recipe never said what size of pan to use so I used my 8" square,it was the right size.The only thing I didn't like about this is that it stuck to the pan,next time I'll grease and flour the pan.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: jsmella
I found the length of time in the oven way too long. I could see the cake was dried out when I pulled it out. I think I'd try 30-35 minutes next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: cajoeen
Very good recipe!! The cake is moist and looked great (i used 4 eggs) although a bit too sweet for my taste (maybe coz i didn't use the lemon juice - i used raspberry extract instead, so there's no sourness to balance the sugar). And i did separate the whites and the yolk like the other reviewer said and i greased the pan with butter. It worked wonders..
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: mayura
I made a plain sponge using vanilla instead, tasted quite normal to me. Nice coloring though, was a bit dense, so adding another egg or beating it a little longer should help.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: GRACEFACE
This is a really easy recipe to do especially for beginner's like me!! This turned out wonderfully compared to others I have tried. I too also substituted lemon extract for vanilla, added fresh blueberries and chopped pecans. I also wanted to cut down the sugar to 3/4 cup and it still tasted great!! But it may not be sweet enough for others, but I thought the vanilla was enough for me. Served it with a spoonful of vanilla yogurt and strawberries, whole fam enjoyed it too. Thanks for sharing!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: maplebook
It was easy to make and I enjoyed the flavour. Mine was overdone at 55 minutes so next time I'll bake it for 45 minutes. It's terrific with vanilla ice cream and the Supreme Strawberry Sauce on this site.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: BERRIES4ME
I can't believe this cake only has 1g of fat per serving! I love it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes