My Reviews (19)

Moroccan Chicken with Olives

This is a great lemony chicken and olive dish that is great in summer. Serve with rice and flat bread.
Reviews (19)


Comment:
18 Jul 2008
YARDNYMPH said:
Something else. Delicious! The first time I prepared this recipe I followed the directions exactly and found the chicken to be a little tougher than I like. The next time, I browned the chicken in the oil after sauteing the onions, then placed everything in my slow cooker dish and baked it for an hour in the oven uncovered - then put the dish in its holder, covered it and cooked it on med for another hour. Perfect!
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: WEINREICH
Very good flavour. This has become a standard in my repertoire of chicken dishes. Easy to make too.
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: ilovemyboys
The olives were a bit strong in this dish- even for my husband who loves them.
 
29 May 2000
Reviewed by: YARDNYMPH
Delicious! The first time I prepared this recipe I followed the directions exactly and found the chicken to be a little tougher that I like. The next time, I browned the chicken in the oil after sauteing the onions, then placed everything in my ceramic crock pot dish and baked it for an hour in the oven uncovered - then put the crock pot dish in its holder, covered it and cooked it on med for another hour. Perfect!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: LanceLotLink
This is an excellent recipe. After reading the other reviews re the seasoning, I doubled the paprika, ginger and added a teaspoon Thyme. I had whole (not pitted) green olives and shaved about 20 of them. I figured they would flavor it more due to the cut up pieces, so I did not add salt. As it reduced, it was flavored perfectly and it didn't need any. The rest of the recipe I followed normally and accompanied it with sticky white rice. I expected a new unique experience with the olive flavor and I wasn't disappointed. My wife and I loved it and I couldn't eat enough of it. My teenager turned her nose up at it, but I chalk that up to her not liking green olives. I will make this again and again. This recipe is very different, but in a great way...we personally loved it. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: WEINREICH
Very good flavor. This has become a standard in my repertoire of chicken dishes. Easy to make too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: RCHEISS
This was a nice recipe but lacked a little "something." I added saffron and threw in some dry wild mushrooms that I reconstituted the in boiling water with the saffron. Needs an herbal touch, perhaps some thyme and rosemay. I would make it again but with a touch more seasoning.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: witchywoman
I had to scale this back for 2 and I added a few strands of saffron...this was amazingly delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: JCL
It is an excellent recipe, but that is a LOT of olives. I used a 10 oz bottle of green Spanish olives for a 5 lb chicken and it was still too much. Since my chicken was double the size, I doubled the water and that was too much. I salvaged the dish by using the remaining liquid (after the chicken finished stewing) to cook up couscous.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: ilovemyboys
The olives were a bit strong in this dish- even for my husband who loves them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes