My Reviews (30)

Pecan Lemon Cake

A very simple cake to make in a ring tin, but light and delicious with a lemon glaze. The perfect mid afternoon snack with tea or coffee.
Reviews (30)


15 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: Michigan Mommy
My only change was to leave out the pecans since we were out. This was a wonderful tasting cake, but it was so small! I would definetly double the recipe to fit into a normal bundt/tube pan. It doesn't rise much and barely filled the bottom half of my pan. I also had to add 10 minutes to the cooking time. I would probably bake this again but just double the recipe and really watch the cook time. This is more like 6/8 servings, not 14!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: ZHANAE
Like others, I eliminated the pecans and baked in a loaf pan. If you bake in a loaf pan, bump up the temp to 350 and cook for an hour. I wanted a more lemony flavor, so I added a teaspoon of lemon extract, and I also added some cornstarch to the flour to make it cake flour. This is definitely a drier pound cake ... about the texture of a scone. But that's perfect for serving with strawberries and whipped cream, or some other fruit that's been macerated.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 May 2006
Reviewed by: Queen P
I found this recipe trying to replace a lost one. Omitted the nuts which weren't in old recipe and baked in 9-inch Bundt pan (smaller than the usual one). You could use a 9 x 5 loaf pan also. There were 12 generous servings with peaches and whipped cream.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Tia Strickler-Wood
This was a really good lemon pound cake. It was really lemoney and My whole family loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Beth
This was the first cake I baked from scratch. It was excellent. However, next time I will try it without the pecans.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: cookin'mama
If you only have the standard size bundt pan, this is going to come out a strange size. In the end, I thought it was perfect for a tea. If you want a more traditional look, double the recipe or use a loaf pan. I loved the flavor and would definitely make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: ELLEN666
A very tasty lemony cake enjoyed by all who ate it.And will be made time and time again in our house now great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: MzNicole
Icing was way too lemony tasting, will add less lemon juice if I make again
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: ssh
Good but super sweet with the topping.Yummy and definately lemony. I did not use the pecans as i did not have any on hand.Still it was good. Just give it time to cool.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 May 2007
Reviewed by: Peggy
Baked this for my mom for Mother's Day. She loves my pound cakes; this one in particular is a favorite now because it tends to be a bit dry. She favours dry pastry such as Stella D'oro or biscotti cookies. A very nice gift for someone you love. I really liked the icing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes