My Reviews (281)

Moroccan Chicken Tagine

A great Moroccan style dish with chicken, chickpeas, vegetables and spices. Serve with flat bread for sopping up the juices.
Reviews (281)


10 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: JESSEP
This is an interesting version of this recipe. I don't add zucchini, garlic or lemon juice. I may experiment with those to add to my version. I do love the Morrocan Chicken I make. I have a few variations. Usually I am fine with just 2-3 chicken breast filets sauteed in 3 Tbsp olive oil. I also add one bell pepper to the dish with more carrots and celery. I think the more vegetables the better. I also use less salt; like 1 tsp. As far as the spices, I just use about 3 Tbsp curry powder from Spice Island; they do the work for you. It has cumin, coriander, fenugreek, ginger, turmeric, dill seed, black pepper, red pepper, mace, cardamon, and cloves. I add the addt'l 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper to the curry powder. I don't use chicken broth, but would like to next time. I use 1 can tomato sauce and 1/2 cup red wine. And finally, I add 1/2 cup or more walnuts and 1/2 cup raisins. These ingredients really enhance the flavor and texture of this dish. Overall, this has become one of my favorite dishes to make because it is really easy and delicious. Serve with couscous simmered in chicken broth and little olive oil.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: AHARTREY
I've made this dish at least 15 times now. It's amazing! Anyone who's ever tried it asks for the recipe. Recently I hosted a dinner party and served this dish. Everyone at the party now has the recipe! You won't be disappointed! Beware the sodium content though. Try using no sodium garbanzo beans and chicken broth. Serve over plain couscous to complete.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: KAFFIR
I didn't exactly follow the recipe to a T. I used a whole bunch more vegetables than amounts given. Also, I used instead, one can chicken broth, the liquid from the can of chickpeas and a can of diced tomatoes, undrained. This is probably why it was so soupy, but luckily I just drained it and labeled the excess liquid Moroccan Tomato Soup. (That was yummy too.) I didn't have zucchini available, so I just omitted it. I also am in the habit of marinating the chicken ahead of time, like my mom taught me, with salt, cayenne pepper, and cooking sherry (just enough to wet it) and letting it sit for an hour in the fridge. I think next time I will marinate with white vinegar instead to give it a sour twist. Also used the juice of a whole lemon. It was a little spicier than I had expected because I used cayenne to marinate on top of the 1/4 tsp cayenne in the recipe, but we like it hot here. It got a great review from my family and I am sure to make it again. I had some of my special Cornbread with Anise Seed leftover and served it with dinner. The sweet, licorice flavor offset the spicyness beautifully and it sopped up the sauce too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Trish
So good that I've been asked by a few people for the recipe! I had to omit the onions and garlic as I had guests who couldn't eat either, and in spite of that everyone really enjoyed it! I served it with basmati rice. . .
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: HAILBUZZY
I try recipes from this website all the time, has got to be one of my favorites. The spices were wonderful, and adding the tomato flavor and chick peas was a nice twist. I marinated the chicken overnight in the spices and ginger and garlic for extra flavor. We served this with couscous for a complete meal. Fabulous!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: STEPHMIT
This was so tasty! We used red kidney beans once, and liked that combination even better than the chickpeas. Will definitely be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: HEIPLEJOHN
I honestly didn't think I was going to like this because I'm not a huge fan of zucchini and chickpeas but it was delicious. Needed some salt and pepper when done but otherwise, was very good. I served it over a blend of wild rices but next time I would include some light bread to sop up the remaining juices.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
15 Sep 2008
Bubby said:
Something else. This is an interesting version of this recipe. I don't add courgette, garlic or lemon juice. I may experiment with those to add to my version. I do love the Morrocan Chicken I make. I have a few variations. Usually I am fine with just 2-3 chicken breast fillets sauteed in 3 Tbsp olive oil. I also add one pepper to the dish with more carrots and celery. I think the more vegetables the better. I also use less salt; like 1 tsp. I don't use chicken stock, but would like to next time. And finally, I add walnuts and raisins. These ingredients really enhance the flavour and texture of this dish. Overall, this has become one of my favourite dishes to make because it is really easy and delicious. Serve with couscous simmered in chicken stock and little olive oil.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
25 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: TOPJIMMY
This was 3 thumbs up!!! I made it even a tad spicier by adding Tabasco sauce.I would recommend reducing the chicken broth by 1/2. I doubled the recipie and used the same amount of broth and it was still a tad runny. All of us loved it and it will be a regular on our menu.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: KA_WOMAN
I served this dish with rice and it was great! The flavors blended nicely and it was really easy to prepare. My boyfriend thought it was restaurant quality. I used a better quality crushed tomatoes because it's a large part of this recipe and the difference was wonderful because the tomatoes were sweeter and not tangy like some store bought brands. Overall, I thought it was a great dish, especially for potlucks at work and I would definately make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes