My Reviews (31)

Sponge Finger Cheesecake

This cheesecake recipe has to hold the record for easiest to put together - fifteen minutes and no baking! Blueberry pie filling will work well, too.
Reviews (31)


17 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: DANAAMCMILLAN
I had planned to make another Allrecipe cheesecake recipe, but couldn't find one of the main ingredients anywhere, so I decided to try this one. When I first read the recipe, I thought "Oh man! That's going to be too cheesey!" But it was excellent! A little goes a long way. Since I had already bought graham cracker crumbs for the other recipe, I decided to make a base for this cake using a mixture of crumbs, sugar and melted butter. Good decision - it tasted great. I omitted the top layer of ladyfingers and just put the light cherry pie filling right on top of the cheese mixture. Excellent!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: chicklet
This is one of my favorite cheesecake recipes. My mom used to make this when I was a little girl. I usually only use 11 ounces of cream cheese instead of the 19 ounces the recipe calls for. I think it makes a much lighter cheesecake.I like to top it off with either blueberry or strawberry pie filling.You have to try it, it's really good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 May 2007
Reviewed by: Sarena
I really found it hard to find ladyfingers because they aren't so readily available here and I was looking around for about 2 hours before realising they werent in the supermarket I was in. I didn't use softened cream cheese so pretty much this recipe was a complete disaster. I could sort of taste how it might have been okay. But I'm giving it 4 stars cause I think would the proper ingredients it would have been okay. Plus mine didn't set? Is that cause I used the wrong cheese and didn't use ladyfingers (I did sub. in some type of soft biscuit which I crumbled)...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Aug 2000
Reviewed by: ARTEMIS826
This recipe went together so well. I used a quiche dish since I didn't have a springside pan. I also omitted the top layer of ladyfingers to keep the height down a little. And, instead of using canned pie filling, I made my own with fresh blueberries. A lovely presentation and very tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: WennieMae
This is my husband's absolutely favorite cheesecake recipe! And several other people who have eaten this tell me it's the best cheesecake they've ever had. I increase the cream cheese to three, I reduce the coolwhip to 8oz instead of 12oz just because we like the more intense cream cheese flavor. We also omit the lady fingers and use graham cracker crust for top and sides. Thanks for this great recipe! Now our go-to recipe for cheesecake!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: risa89103
This is a great cheesecake, however I use powdered (confectioner's) sugar instead of regular sugar. I think it sweetens things like cream cheese and whipping cream much better, without the gritty taste that you can get with granulated sugar. Also, I topped my cheesecake with crushed pineapple, draining it first of course!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: DSKIPPY2
I've been making this for years, sometimes I fold in drained crushed pineapple to the mixture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: FOOZALG
I have been using this recipe for a couple years now. I started off with one small springform pan and now I have five because people keep giving them to me to make more of this cheesecake. The great thing is, it's so easy! I stocked up on 10 pkgs of ladyfingers the other day and the baker says to me "tiramisu?", no...delicious cheesecake!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: LYNNEI
A bit too many ladyfingers, but good none the less.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: abethel
My boyfriend thought this tasted amazing but it seemed like I didn't have nearly enough lady fingers and it looked more like a pile of mush then a cake. Either way I have gotten many requests to make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes