My Reviews (14)

Tuna and Bean Salad

This is a great tuna salad based on beans rather than potato or pasta. We like it spicy, but you can reduce the amount of chilli if you prefer.
Reviews (14)


30 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: trinityjayone
Great!! Really nice flavours, and quite mild despite the chili and salsa (I deseeded though) so kids should be fine to eat it. I served it on a bed of mixed lettuce & baby spinach. Will definitely be making this again!
 
27 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: ivygreen
This is a great recipe flavors are different than the usual tuna salad. I was looking for something different to pack in grownup lunch boxes and this is definitely it. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: TAMMYDACHEF
WOW! I loved this. I used water packed tuna instead of olive oil packed to cut down on fat. I eye balled the cumin. (probably ended up being the same as in the recipe, I was sceptical, but don't skip this!! It makes the salad!) I did not have green chiles or fresh cilantro, but I had a large jar of HOT salsa, and added some of that. Love all the ingredients! SO healthy. I just added about 1-2 TBS of olive oil Mayo, and that smoothed it out, rather cut the heat a bit. I like it with and without the mayo. I had to add more salsa and cumin after I added the mayo. (I like it with a kick) The cumin really changes this and adds an awesome taste to this. My new Fav power lunch. I used lots of yellow, green, red and orange pepper. (I had all of that on hand) I had to let you know how great this is! I used to just mix a TBS of mayo and salsa to my can of tuna (My sis taught me that. I thought it was gross when I saw her do that, but it is good) I will never do that again. Can't wait to have my sis taste this one... SSSOOOOO YUMMY! THANKS!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: TexasALo
Yum!!! I was scanning through allrecipes, wondering if anyone had ever combined black beans and tuna, and I came across this recipe. It's great! I usually try to follow recipes to the letter when I'm trying them for the first time, but I had to make a few changes to use what I had on hand. I only used 2 pouches (2.6oz) of albacore white tuna, a few thin slices of red onion, 1/3 of a green bell pepper, and a little bit of miracle whip in leiu of the mayo. I also went light on the cumin and used a few spoonfuls of Rotel instead of salsa verde. I do wish that I had cilantro, but it is really tasty without it too! I will definitely make again!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Kristen Swinton
My personal trainer is trying to get me to eat tuna without mayonnaise. This is a great way to do it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: redebernardo
Wow! Who knew tuna would be so good with a Mexican twist!The true key to this recipe is to let it sit for a few hours in the fridge before digging in - the extra time helps the spice come out! I used hot salsa instead of salsa verde since our family loves spicy stuff, and I found this to be excellent in a whole wheat tortilla or on top of greens for a fun salad. I, like others, also used tuna in water not oil, and really enjoyed the taste and lack of oiliness in the salad (I don't see why they'd want it in olive oil, tell you the truth). Will definitely make again, maybe for a party as it made a great dip with tortilla chips or Wheat Thins!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: MaLizGa
This is going to sound dorky but this tuna salad tastes... festive. It has a lot of textures and flavors that really liven up a tuna sandwich. I swapped orange pepper for green and green chile peppers for jalapeno peppers - just because that's what I had. The cumin is great!! Eyeballed the mayo - as always - and stuffed it in a toasted whole wheat pita for a scrumptious, healthy dinner!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Tricia Melat
I liked this much better than the traditional tuna salad - I liked the addition of cumin especially. I left out the black beans (college student budget!) and the optional ingredients and it was still delicious. I also added a few shakes of chili powder because I felt like there was something missing. Will definitely make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: CC'sCosmicCook
Loved it.. great way to add more protein with the black beans! I always add a splash of lemon juice, Tabasco, and Worcestershire sauce to my tuna salad, and threw in some diced jalapeños for some kick. was also worried about the cumin but it was perfect! stuffed the mix in a pita and baked with a slice of provolone.. AWESOME!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: 1234
Loved this! I made it with smoked tuna and it turned out great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes