My Reviews (41)

Pork and Beef Tacos

A great taco recipe with an Italian twist, easy and quick to make and satisfying enough for a full meal with a green salad.
Reviews (41)


24 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Jillian
Wow - nice twist on regular 'ol hard shell tacos! This is kinda like traditional Mexican meets old school Italian. Like others, I was a bit skeptical but overall it's really good. It tastes like a meatball hoagie fused with a hard shell taco. So, if you like both of those you're bound to like this. My husband is a fan of both, so he really enjoyed this. Plus, it was quick and easy to put together for a weeknight meal. I seasoned the ground beef and sausage with a little minced garlic as well as Italian seasoning. I omitted with sugar from the jarred sauce as I used "Classico's Sweet Tomato Basil Sauce". I topped the "tacos" with a combination of mozzarella and parmesan cheeses. Overall, simply delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: knicolelynch
This was really good and super easy, but it would have been better on bread than in a taco shell. If I make it in the shell again, I will add some roasted red peppers and ricotta cheese to make it more taco like and less like a meatball sandwich.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: EERICKSON
For a quick and easy meal, this was a five star recipe. I loved the crunchy taco shell mixed with the Italian flavors. I wasn't sure how this was going to be, but I was pleasantly surprised.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Amy
Delicous. I love itaian food. This is a keeper. I used a little water when cooking meat because it was dry but other than that, two thumbs up 4 the italian tacos!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: Verna
WOW!!! These were so simple to make and tasted great! A good change from regular tacos! Thanks Super Dave for posting this....it will definately become a regular dish on our dinner plates!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: TINKERBELL926
I WAS A LITTLE BIT SKEPTICAL OF THIS RECIPE BUT IM GLAD I TRIED IT. IT WAS YUMMY. I USED TURKEY SAUSAGE AND GROUND SIRLOIN TO MAKE IT LOWER IN FAT. I DIDNT HAVE MOZERELLA CHEESE SO I USED FAT FREE CHEDDAR AND IT WORKED OUT FINE. THIS ONE IS A KEEPER.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Jennifer
Although I doubled the entire recipe (big eaters/teenagers at my house) I followed it exactly. It was AWESOME! It is now the new official taco of our house! I did add ricotta cheese to the bottom of the taco but that's just because we are huge ricotta cheese lovers! A must try!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 May 2010
Reviewed by: Kristal Pacheco
Of course like other posts... surprisingly good! They were very easy. I added some diced onion and green pepper for a little color and flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 May 2010
Reviewed by: evetsangel
Tasted yummy. We used hard taco shells and it was very messy. Next time we will use soft taco shells.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Amanda
i thought these were great so flavorful i added some italian seaosnings to give the hamburger a bit of flavor... word of caution... my boyfriend prefers soft taco shells. NEVER USE SOFT TACO SHELLS trying to appease him they just turned out bad. the soft taco shell ruined it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes