My Reviews (18)

Grape Cake

Here's a beautiful purple grape cake, best served as a summer dessert with a glass of sweet dessert wine. Perfect for guests!
Reviews (18)


17 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: MOMTOOFE
This recipe was a hit at our table. It was gone the same day and I made a new cake the next morning! I made a few changes... 1/3 cup honey instead of 2/3 cups sugar and increase milk to 2/3 cup. Yummy! Seeds from grapes add a crunshy twist...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: LISUTE
WOW! Light and moist, this cake is a winner. I loved the addition of olive oil. Not too sweet, with a hint of citrus. Mmmm! Loved it. I will definitely be making it again. Incidentally, I made this cake to share at an interview at an olive oil company (made with their oil). They loved it, too! Hopefully, it will get me a job.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: yogi
I made it with blueberries instead of grapes and it was really good, it's a keeper, doubled the recipe, didn't use springform.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 May 2010
Reviewed by: BRG
I had never heard of this type of cake but thought it sounded delicious... and it was! It also looks beautiful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Rachel Kelly
This wasn't a bad cake. But, I do prefer a lighter, fluffier cake. I also wasn't too big of a fan of the grapes. They're just kind of sour. I would prefer something else, like raspberries.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: APEST
too dry, let's try a little more baking powder and less cooking time at 150 C degrees.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: DDeazy
Yumm...almost like a grape cobbler.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Arti
This was very yum and an innovative cake. But maybe here in India the grapes aren't as small or sweet 'coz the skins added a slightly sour taste which spoilt it for some people.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Caroline C
This cake is definitely best eaten with a cup of tea of coffee, otherwise it is rather dry and not very sweet. It also sank a lot after I took it out of the oven, but that was probably my fault as I'm not very good at making cakes. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: RUBY2
These grapes are in season in my part of the world and my family loves them. The cake is rather unusual and absolutely delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes