My Reviews (81)

Pineapple Banana and Pecan Cake

This cake is a bit like a banana cake with a touch of pineapple and cinnamon. Everyone I've served it to thinks it's a hit.
Reviews (81)


19 Jul 2000
Reviewed by: GRANDMA LEE
This recipe is the best all round cake for every diet format, ease and speed of prepraration and it really tastes terrific! I substituted 1 cup of applesauce for one cup of the oil. It was an outstanding low fat cake this way.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: readernut
My husband loved this cake. I reduced the sugar to 2 cps. and cut the oil down to 3/4 cp., and the recipe turned out fine. I only had to bake it 70 min.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: TINKERBELL51
I was really disappointed with this cake. The ingredient list sounded so yummy, but it overflowed out of the cake tin & it tasted WAY too oily. I think I'll stick to my old banana cake recipe & just add pineapple. Looks like the other readers have changed the recipe & then given it 5 stars which isn't very helpful for people like me who just make the recipe as it appears.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Cindy in Pensacola
Very good even making it a little healthier! I used 1 cup of applesauce and 1/3 cup of oil. I used 2 cups Splenda and 1 cup sugar. I used about 1/2 cup pecans and 1/2 cup slivered almonds (what I had on hand). I did add a jar of drained maraschino cherries. My bananas were very ripe ones that I had frozen so it made for a very, very moist cake. Pleasantly surprised by this great homemade cake!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 May 2008
Reviewed by: COOKIN4MYFAMILY
The whole family loves this recipe. I do cut back on the oil to 2/3 c. and on the sugar to 1 3/4 c. I use a 10 inch bundt pan with no overflow problems. I also bake it for 70 minutes (with about 60 minutes of that on the Convection Bake setting). I've made it with and without the optional cherries, but prefer the flavor without the cherries. It's easy, looks great, and tastes delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Nov 2000
Reviewed by: KRISPI
This cake is EXCELLENT for any gathering. It is a Banana cake with a TWIST!!! It is so moist and delicious. I added another teaspoon of cinnamon and a cup of raisins - really a very good harvest cake!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: STRRYNYT
this cake is really good...made it in a 9x13 pan instead of bundt...took a little longer, but was pretty good...very very moist...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: NPRINCE
Deeeeelicious! My husband says it's the best cake he's ever had! Easy to make. I found the cooking time to be about 1 hr. for my oven, so check it often so you don't overcook it. I will definitely be serving this one for Thanksgiving this year!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: MSCOBY
YUM!!!! What a great cake.....Had it for a Thanksgiving Desert, served it warm with a dollop of fresh whipped cream.....Terrific!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Lisa Orianne Vincent
This cake was yummy. I made a few variations: I reduced the oil to 2/3 cup and added an additional 2/3 cup of mashed bananas. I reduced the sugar to 2 cups, substituted 1 cup of chocolate chips for the pecans, added 1 Tblsp. of cocoa and ommitted the cherries. It turned out great. Also, I made a small loaf pan and advise people to pull it out sooner or it will burn on the bottom. Will definitely make again and will try with cherries next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes