My Reviews (80)

Pineapple, Banana and Pecan Cake

A delicious cake with pineapples, bananas and pecans. Very simple to make and perfect with cream cheese icing.
Reviews (80)


22 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Food Fanatic
A great recipes....made even better with a few modifications to suit my taste. I reduced the vegetable oil to 3/4 cup and added 1/2 cup buttermilk. I also added about 3/4 cup coconut. Instead of dicing the bananas, I mashed them. I used two 8" round cake pans greased, floured, and the bottoms lined with parchment paper - I baked at 350F for approx 35-40 min. After the cakes cooled I assembled the layer cake, frosting the layers with cream cheese frosting and garnishing the side of the cake with more shredded coconut. Thanks Carol for sharing this great recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: MysticCook
I had been wanting to make this cake for a while, so I was happy to find the recipe. I read the reviews first and noticed a lot of others thought reducing the oil was a good idea. I wanted to use apple sauce instead of oil anyway, so I thought I would use 1 to 1 1/4 cups apple sauce in place of the oil. I however, only had 3/4 cup apple sauce so I used it and also added 1/4 cup oil. I used 3 9" pans instead of the bundt pan as well, then frosted it with cream cheese frosting and pressed additional nuts into the frosting. The cake turned out wonderful, got a lot of compliments. But next time I will use 1 1/4 cups apple sauce and no oil. This will cut down on the fat and makes for a very moist and tasty cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Susanna
A very heavy and dense cake but the taste was quite good. As others suggested I reduced the amount of oil to 1/4 cup and added a cup of apple sauce. As well, I greased and then dusted my bundt pan with cinnamon sugar. This gave the cake a nice sweet surface so no icing was necessary.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: JAVAJUNKY
This is a wonderful recipe.....I did cut the oil down to 3/4 cup as per another review. I also added a cinnamon/nut topping. I used 1/2 cup chopped pecans, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1 tbsp cinnamon mixed together and sprinkled it evenly in the bottom of the pan before I poured the batter in. After it cooled I drizzled the cake with a lemon glaze. Co-workers and family loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 May 2005
Reviewed by: QKACEY
Cake was good. I would also recommend reducing the oil, like the other reviews mentioned. The oil seeped through my cardboard cake round. Next time I make it, in addition to less oil, I will try one banana instead of two, more pineapple, and possibly some coconut or coconut flour, and add some nutmeg and allspice. It is definately still good as is, but it tastes like a lighter banana bread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: Nicole73
I chose this recipe over the others listed b/c it called for the pineapple juice..I thought this would make it very moist. I was right...this was THE BEST! I also used the cream cheese frosting from the other recipe listed. My neighbor raved & asked for a copy of the recipe. Thanks for a great & easy cake to make!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: D. BENEDICT
I love this recipe, it is quick, easy and taste wonderful also! This is one that you will want to try!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: DEANN2
Sorry, there is just tooooo much "Hoopla" going on about this cake. I found it totally un-eventfull. It was easily passed over at christmas, many times I might add. Definitly no ooohs and ahhhs. It was ok, but thats simply it........OK
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Pearli7
Made this for Thanksgiving and only used half the amount of bananas suggested based on reviews of others that indicated that too much made it taste like banana bread. Also added crushed pineapples to the icing mix for more pineapple taste as well as to keep the icing from being so thin. I had to stop playing hostess to get my husband and myself a piece as it went that quickly. Everyone (reviewers) that thinks it is sweet enough without the icing is certainly missing out on a treat. I made both versions but ended up throwing away half of the the "icing free" version (glad I only made a small heart shaped one). Also followed suggestion to make a topping fo ricing out of cinnamon, brown sugar and pecans. That was superb. Will definitely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: NOLA-1
I made this cake for dessert for a dinner party we went to. It was the hit of the party! It's not hard to make, it rises beautifully, and it tastes wonderful! I will definitely make it agai;n! Thankyou Carol!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes