My Reviews (12)

Frankfurt Stew

A great quick lunch or dinner recipe and very popular with the kids. Serve it with cooked macaroni or mashed potatoes for a full meal.
Reviews (12)


21 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Kim
My mother used to make this when I was a child and called it "Hot Dog Slop". It's cheap, quick and surprisingly good. I like it best over egg noodles and topped with grated parmesan cheese. It's definitely one of those recipes you just have to try to appreciate.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: MBKRH
Not bad for something quick and easy. I served this over a bed of white rice, and added creole seasoning.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Amy Colwell Bradford
Pretty Good! My kids loved it so I'm keeping this recipe around! We had wayyyyeee too many hot dogs and we couldn't just have mac N cheese w/ hotdogs or hot dogs in buns every night! This recipe caught my eye and I gave it a try. My kids came back for thirds! A nice, simple recipe that's not over the top and a beginner cook like myself can do it! (I used frozen bell peppers and served this with noodles and veggies on the side)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: amandak23k
This is kind of like a poor man's jambalya!! I didn't have hot dogs so I used breakfast sausage that I mixed with the frozen onion, pepper and celery mixture. I used a can of spicy diced tomatoes. Mixed it all together with rice. Pretty good will probably make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: annie
my family loved this.I used 3 medium peppers i wanted to use up.I warmed up the sautee pan and started adding onions as I was still cutting by time I cut and added all the peppers I coverd the pan for a few minutes steam wich gave me more juice then I added the hot dogs and coverd again for a few minutes.I decided not to brown the hot dogs but to make extra juice so I could serve this over rice and it worked fine.I also added a few good shakes of creole seasoning and used good beef hot dogs.Thanks for posting we will make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 May 2010
Reviewed by: Susan
Footnote: To make this a low fat recipe, use either low fat or fat free hotdogs along with cooking spray (such as Pam) in place of the oil.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Paula
I have to admit...I am amazed at how good this is! I was trying to clean out my pantry and freezer before going to the grocery store and found this recipe. I used crushed tomatoes instead of stewed, and I used red peppers. I also omitted the oil and used the low-fat Hebrew National hot dogs to make this much lower in calories and fat. I sprinkled a little Splenda over it to cut the acid and served this over brown rice. Not bad at all!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jul 2018
Reviewed by: Rachel
Good- great! Easy, fast and surprisingly yummy. I added and substitute a bit just because it was what I had; I added, one green and one red bell peppers, one whole onion, one whole fresh tomato. The last ingredient I added was Hunt’s Dinner Starters seasoned tomato sauce for lasagna, 8oz of the 15 oz can
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2016
Reviewed by: TheVikingChef
Not my cup of tea. I don't think the flavours blended well at all.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2015
Reviewed by: Linda
I made this when I was a teenager. Over the years lost the recipe. So happy to have found it again!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes