My Reviews (571)

Dijon Macaroni and Cheese

Real macaroni and cheese is a treat to die for. The secret is a touch of Dijon mustard to give it a spicy tang. Great on cold days!
Reviews (571)


02 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: rach8986
OK.. so I think I've pretty much PERFECTED..I did it last night and it is the best home made mac and cheese I've ever had! I used 1 3/4 cup of milk and 1/4 cup heavy cream.. this made it extra creamy and yummy. I also blended in 2 cups of the suggested cheddar as well as 1 cup of provolone and 1 cup of mozzeralla...this made it even more creay and cheesy... I omitted the breadcrumb topping (TOO much breadcrumbs for me) and generously added more cheddar, mozzeralla, and provolone to the top before puting it into the oven... If you like easy, cheesy, and creamy mac and cheese..you will love this recipe with these modifications!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: ChefNan
.Love this recipe....BUT...7 ounces of pasta would barely feed 2 people in my family (we're German i.e. big eaters) Plus that seemes like a lot of sauce for the ammount of pasta.. So I upped the butter to a 1/2 cup and left everything else the same and used a 1 pound box of macaroni. It was PERFECT!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: KERI KENNELLY
I've never made macaroni and cheese from scratch before, so I was excited to try it out. I was looking for a recipe that had ingredients I'd readily have on hand. No specialty cheeses. I really like the bread crumb topping. The actual mac and cheese was a little too cream cheese flavored for me. I like rich, flavorful foods and the cream cheese made it too bland for me. I'm going to keep looking around for other recipes, but if I do make this again, I'll down the cream cheese to 6oz and up the cheddar to 2 & 1/2 to 3 cups. Also, when I made this, instead of putting parsley (which I'm not fond of) in with the bread crumbs I put garlic salt and paprika. Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: kjstrom
This is the very first time that I am sorry that I followed the advice of others. So many other reviewers said that they halved the cream cheese because it was too strong of a flavor. I purposely chose this recipe because I like cream cheese. But after reading all the reviews, I was afraid to use the full amount of cream cheese called for. Although this mac & cheese came out very good, it wasn't at all special. It tasted just like every other mac & cheese. I couldn't taste one iota of cream cheese. Next time I'm going to use the full amount called for.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Southern Lady Cook
I love macaroni and cheese so I had to try this. I'm not too crazy about cream cheese and was a little concerned about others complaining of an overpowering cream cheese flavor, so I substituted 8 ozs of sour cream, which is what I normally use in my mac and cheese. I also added about 4 more ounces of shredded cheddar cheese. This recipe turned out creamy, cheesy and delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: myztikal
I was not impressed with this macaroni and cheese. I followed the recipe but it was VERY bland. I won't make this one again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: LUVSNOW17
WOW, this was great! My fiance loved it and ate leftovers 3 days in a row! I did saute a little garlic and onion then added a dash of Red Hot (or tabasco) to spice it up a little. It was great and I will make it often.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: LIBBYLANE
A++++ Loved this recipe! I did 1/2 the amount of cream cheese and add an extra cup of (sharp) cheddar. It was very creamy and cheesy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: AlinkaPinka
My very first time making a homemade Mac n Cheese and everyone JUST LOVED it! Very creamy! I did use 1 full pound of noodles and added a cup of white cheddar and a cup of monterey jack in addition to the regular cheddar. I also added finely chopped BACON! Best Mac n Cheese ever if you like it creamy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: maricris
Besides using Ritz crackers instead of breadcrumbs, I followed this exact recipe and I loved it! I do prefer a creamier mac & cheese though. The fiance requested that I put in more cheddar next time. I might play around with white cheddar next time also.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes