My Reviews (187)

Quick Taco Casserole

Here's a quick and easy way to prepare dinner for the whole family. It's practically no trouble at all and guaranteed to satisfy picky eaters.
Reviews (187)


27 May 2006
Reviewed by: MINNIE000
I think this is a great recipe. I used what I had. Skipped the corn and celery. Didn't have canned chili either. Here's what I did. Added garlic, celery salt, used homemade taco seasoning, chili powder and used rice instead of noodles. Made the rice, dumped everything else in the frying pan. Added the rice once it was done and put the whole thing in the oven. I have oven safe pots so I skipped the casserole dish. Also topped with cheddar cheese. Excellent dish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: DREGINEK
This tastes very similar to "chili casserole" also found on this site. In addition to the 1/4c salsa, I added 1/3c taco sauce to make it a little creamier, used macaroni noodles instead of egg noodles and mixed in about 1/2c of sharp cheddar cheese in with it all. Apprx 5 minutes before completion, I sprinkled another 1/2c cheese overall to melt. Very tasty and hearty lunch. Warmed us up in this frigid MN weather we're having here! Thanks Sara.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2000
Reviewed by: AT HOME MAMA
This recipe is filling and easy but to add more taste, mix some shredded cheddar cheese into the casserole and turn up the heat on the oven to about 350 for 20 minutes and it has more flavor. Good, easy, fast and cheap! That gets me!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: SHARLIE60647
I loved it. I served it with cornbread. My bf loved it. So good I sent the recipe to everyone I know. So good I have made it once a week for 3 weeks. I did change it a bitt. Added some garlic and added hot pepper flakes to the burger. Also added some colby jack cheese on top. I made it with expesive and cheap chilli. It works well with both. I even printed it out and added it to my recipe box with all my grandma's old recipes. 9-22-05 Tried this recipe again last night and used Campbells Chunky Chilli. This dish came out with very little flavor. I would not recommend using Campbells Chilli use Nally's or store brands even Aldi's chilli. I have used many different types of Chilli and this recipes works, but not with Campbells.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Katie Kate
It is very good but I altered it because of the reviews I read, the original way may be a bit bland. Instead of noodles I had mexican style rice, I added colby jack cheese, instead of regular skinless diced tomatoes I substituted stewed tomatoes which gave it more flavor. I also added some corn chips on top to give it a bit of texture. Then when I served it I added a dallop of sour cream. Made it a lot more flavorful and a bit spicier.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 May 2008
Reviewed by: Stan Crowder
I made this last night for my family and it was a huge hit! I substituted rice for egg noodles (was out of noodles), and used salsa with cheese blended in instead of regular salsa. I also added a little garlic to the hamburger and onion as I was cooking it, and added shreaded cheese blend on top of the mixture, baking as directed. My wife had seconds and thirds, and my 5 year old son loved it too (and he is pretty picky). I will try this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Katie
I just made this the other night and it turned out really good! I didnt have everything on the list so I had to alter it a little. I didnt have any celery so I just ommited that. I didnt have any chili so I used pork and beans and spiced them up with some red pepper flakes and kicken chicken seasoning (really gave it great flavor!) I used rice instead of noodles as recommended in the other review, topped it with cheese at the end and served it with a dollop of sour cream. Great reheated for lunch the next day too. My husband wants me to keep it as a regular dinner option. : )
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: DARLENEBUTTOLPH
Very good & quick . but do add cheese on top.heat at 350 for 20min.Its a keeper..FIN-N-FUR
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Emily Ward
I modified this recipe a bit. I left out the celery and the salsa (because I didn't have any) and exchanged the egg noodles for two chopped potatoes since neither I or my husband are big egg noodle fans. Because I put in the potatoes, I upped the cooking time to about 45 minutes and upped the oven temp to about 350. The result was a hearty meal a little thicker than chili but with the same great flavor. It actually seemed better warmed up the next day than right after it was cooked. Yummy topped with cheese and sour cream!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: STC5
We loved it, including the kids. Used more hamburger and fewer noodles, just because that's how we like it, and added cheese to the top, but other than that used the exact recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes