My Reviews (222)

Greek Lamb Burgers

These are wonderful served on warm pita bread with tzatziki and thinly sliced onion, tomato and lettuce. Perfect for summer days!
Reviews (222)


15 May 2003
Reviewed by: TENSMOM
Pretty goo! I made a "gyros" sauce to go with it, too -- if you really like the "gyros thing" -- I suggest making this to go with it: Mix some plain yougart, light sour cream, fresh mint, garlic salt, chopped cucumber, scallions, and tomato together. Put this over your burger. Voila! Pretty good, if I do say so myself.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: greta
Very, very good. The spice combination is spectacular. I put the mixture into my food processor to get a firmer texture. I then shaped into a very thin loaf and broiled in the oven. Slice very thinly and serve with pita, fried in olive oil, greek olives, roasted garlic and tzatziki sauce. Great appetizer.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: STEFFYO
It was really good. I have never been able to get that same taste like they have a those Gyros stands or greek restaurants till now. thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: TUNISIANSWIFE
these were very good. I used 1.30 # ground sirloin only. Did not have the savory. Added 1/2 tsp. dried oregano as other reviewers suggested (thank you) and fresh chopped parsley to the mix. Left out the bread crumbs because didn't use lamb which adds more liquid (oil) to the mix. Was afraid they would be too dry using ground sirloin only. They were not at all dry. Mixed it up this afternoon and let it set for a few hours for the flavors to blend. Tasted much like gyro meat. Served in warmed onion pitas w/red onion slices, diced fresh tomatoes, and tziziki sauce. Thanks LatinaCook for the photo submission, as well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Chef Joy
What sort of Greek restaurants are people eating at if they think this is even remotely authentic OR taste like gyros. I've NEVER had problems with 5-star recipes. If our family disagrees about it being 5-stars... it still turned out to be a decent dish (just not our thing). Please consider a different Gyro recipe. I'll report back when I've discovered a better one, but this doesn't taste like gyros at all esp. if you're spoiled and have a good restaurant near you. I'm VERY easy to please, and my husband... not so much. Either way, we both didn't want to eat this. Followed the recipe exactly and even included the sauce people recommended. FWIW, the sauce tastes better w/o blending it. Blending it makes it too thin.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Chris Spahr
Very, very good. Meat tasted just like traditional gyro meat, it just didn't look like it. Will definitely make again. Made this with the Tzatziki Sauce I recipe (plus cucumber).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: sakuraiiko
added some feta
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: LatinaCook
Pretty good. I couldn't find savory anywhere though. I grilled the patties on my foreman grill and i cut them in 4-5 slices each before putting them in the pita bread. (I used the tzatziki I sauce from this site and added 1/2 cucumber to it for a more authentic flavor).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Myers
Outstanding! I pretty much followed the recipe, except I used all beef and pressed some onion into the meat mixture. I also cut the patties as suggested by a previous reviewer, and served on flatbread with red onion, tomato, lettuce, and tzatziki. Yum! Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: chrisyb96
OMG, wow!! I grew up in a greek neighborhood so I know what an authentic gyro tastes like. I was missing gyros since i moved away from the old neighborhood and came across this recipe. I mixed the meat and everything else together until well blended and instead of cooking it the way the directions told you i took a reviewers advice and shaped the meat into a loaf and baked it in the oven for about an hour. I let it cool completely and sliced it thin and served it in a pita with tzatziki sauce, tomatoes and red onion. This was fantastic!! Will definately make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes