My Reviews (40)

Barbecued Tuna with Grapes and Capers

The ingredients might seem a little unusual but grapes and capers are the perfect compliment to fresh tuna. Goes nicely with a light salad.
Reviews (40)


21 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Katherine
This is an AAWESOME recipe - so quick and easy to make and yet absolutely gourmet in taste!! I made two small changes to the recipe, out of necessity: had no capers on hand so substituted small quartered olives (rinsed and patted dry) and broiled the tuna rather than barbecuing it. The flavour was absolutely delicious - the fresh parsley/grapes was so fresh tasting. The olives worked really well as a substitute (although I am looking forward to trying it again with the capers). (One word of caution - be careful not to overcook the tuna as it dries out) Thanks Drew for a wonderful recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Marles
Delicious summer recipe. The salsa is fantastic with the lightly marinated tuna steak done medium or medium rare. Highly recommended with steamed veggies and a chilled glass of riesling.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jul 2009
Excellent! - surprising and unique flavor combo. Even 2-3 minutes per side was a bit too much if you want it medium rare - depends on how thick your fish is. Thanks for submitting this creative recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: LYCACLARK
I really loved this combination of grapes and capers. It was the first time I prepared tuna steaks and I was afraid of undercooking. I will follow recipe /cooking time exactly next time. They were still delicious. My husband and son liked the meal, not as much as I did but they are hard to please so I considered this a success. We will have this again. I will also use the caper/grape combination on salmon which I prepare often.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: RandyW
Must admit that I was a little concerned about the combination of grapes and capers. However, we were very pleasantly surprised. The sweet and briny flavors come together very nicely. The only thing I would do different is quarter the grapes instead of halving them next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Greg Gevas
What a fantastic summer dish. I really liked the combo of the grapes, shallots and capers: alternatively sweet, salty and sharp. This recipe is really about the salsa, because it could be just as easily used on salmon, swordfish, chicken, maybe even pork. I look forward to introducing this simple recipe to friends and family.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Vanessa
Yum Yum! This is the first time I've worked with tuna steaks and like others I overcooked em a bit but this was still really good. I loved the salsa, I kept eating it by itself. I served it alongside some grilled cheesy polenta, the combo was awesome!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Marcia Greer
Wonderful! The only thing I would change is to quarter the grapes instead of halving and maybe a few less capers. Very interesting and nice flavor combo esp on a hot night in FL. (I don't have a grill so I seared the tuna med rare in a hot pan with some olive oil. Used a pinch of smoked salt on the tuna to compensate.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: VOSSNER
wow! this is a keeper. I followed the recipe faithfully and I'm glad I did. Important to half the grapes, otherwise kinda hard to eat whole grapes using fork. I grilled our tuna, but I can see using any kind of white fish, either grilled or pan fried. EXCELLENT!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: AUTUMN609
I only checked this recipe originally due to the strange sounding ingredients, but the reviews convinced me to try it. I subbed green grapes for red, and a little onion/garlic for the shallot. I pan seared the tuna and served with quinoa. Yummy
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes