My Reviews (31)

Barbecued Mussels with Curry Butter

Mussels are at their best cooked over a barbecue. I serve these with warm crusty bread for dunking followed by a big green salad for an easy summertime meal.
Reviews (31)


02 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Comotrekker
Highly recommended! I have made this several times now over a charcoal grill and it is fantastic. I have also had to share the recipe with my neighbor after he smelled it while it was cooking! I will add that you should soak the mussels before you cook them in order to get the sand out of them: Place the mussels in a large pot (8qt or so), and for every 24 mussels add 4 cups of cold water and 1/3 cup salt. Stir well once to mix the salt, mussels, and water. After soaking for about 15 or 20 minutes dump the water, rinse the mussels and repeat. Complete the process a total of 3 times. *** We just made this again tonight (the windchill here in MN was -14, but we really wanted to grill.) We added a bag of bay scallops on top of the mussels and then topped off each individual bowl (when it was finished) with a squeeze of lime, and a sprinkle of garlic salt and curry powder -- WOW! This was amazing! We served it with a baked potato & a salad. Thank you so much for this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Rasa
Very deliciuos, can grill also in the oven.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Sam Osborn
Definitely worth the 5 stars with the presentation value, the meal looked fantastic. However be careful of adding too many post-cooking spices, as the dish needs to stand on the foundation of the cooking juices and not be overpowered by extra garlic salt/curry. As a complimentary side definitely add a very crusty bread, as the sauce is perfect in combination with an italian or sourdough loaf.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: crazy4chickpeas
I can tell THIS would be my favorite recipe for mussels ever. I wanted to review for one reason: I am a stove-top mussel cooker, and every recipe I see, I make on the stove. If you also would rather make this on the stove top, do NOT add the lime slices. Instead, squeeze some lime juice on right before serving. The boiled lime actually REALLY overpowered everything and gave a bitter aftertaste...I found out the hard way haha!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: SunnyByrd
Awesome. I made these exactly as written and they turned out perfectly. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: g350h350
We enjoyed this; on the other hand, I've never met a grilled mussel that I didn't like. The next time we make it, we'll probably double all the tasty savoury stuff, because that's what we tend to like.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Tiff W
If you are looking for the perfect mussel recipe, this is the one to try!! This is the first recipe I have made with mussels, and everyone loved them. It is such a simple recipe and grilling them in tin foil packetts on the BBQ works perfectly and is makes for an easy clean.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: pelicangal
I really loved this recipe. I usually will not rate a recipe if I change a major ingredient but in this case I think that it is okay. I used clams instead of mussels but considering that I prefer mussels, I can't wait to try it with them. Other than this change I followed the recipe exactly. The broth was wonderful with my homemade bread and I could eat another bowl right now. Thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: sc.ue
Made this over the Christmas holidays. Absolutely stellar! Will definitely make again. Rave reviews from everyone that was here for dinner. Made no changes or substitutions.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Kaye Gilliam Bernard
Fantastic! I absolutely agree with sosborn's review that the dish looks fantastic and that it needs no additional spicing after cooking. The dish, as it comes off the grill, needs no embellishment whatsoever. Hot crusty bread and a nice glass of chardonnay are all you need for the perfect dish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes