My Reviews (33)

Chickpea and Kidney Bean Salad

This is an easy, healthy salad or side dish. It can also be easily become a Mexican salad by changing the lemon to lime, parsley to coriander and adding ground cumin and/or chilli powder. Remember to add the finely grated lemon rind as this really adds zing to the salad.
Reviews (33)


11 May 2004
Reviewed by: sourdough girl
This is not a review... it's my recipe and it's supposed to say that the beans should be drained and RINSED. Also, I specified that any combination of beans would work, but contrasting colors make the best presentation! But, you know, I think it's a 5* recipe, so I'm going to give it 5*s just to get you guys started! Enjoy! p.s. to "likkel"... why would people who don't like cold bean salads even try this recipe? that's like saying vegetarians won't like a beefsteak recipe! And WHY would you feed it to your husband, knowing he doesn't like garbanzo beans??
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
This was so good Cathy! I used garbonzos and pintos in this recipe and added some chopped cucs and black olives. This is a very refreshing salad and went so nicely with our spicey pork tenderloin. Thanks so much!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2004
Reviewed by: LIKKEL
I thought this was pretty good. My husband wouldn't eat it. I made him try it and he first picked out the garbanzos since he doesn't like them. People who don't like cold bean salads won't like it. I used Lime instead of lemon; and red beans in stead of kidnet beans. I did half with fresh cilantro and half with fresh parsley and I liked the cilantro better (but I love cilantro); the parsley batch had a nice fresh flavor. I tried adding some (thawed) frozen corn and thougth that was good. I added some more chopped red onion since that gave it nice flavor and crunch and a bit more tomato was good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: melb31
Great recipe, but I used cherry tomatoes. I have made bean salads before and they taste great, but leftovers can be too watery if you use chopped/cut up tomatoes. With cherry tomatoes the leftovers taste great too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: wooll3n
I made this for a family get-together in July and got rave reviews on it. It was so refreshing after we'd spent the day out in the hot sun! I added a can of butter beans and a clove or 2 of smashed garlic. (I whisked the garlic, lemon juice and olive oil together before pouring it over all the veggies and beans.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: MW
This was simple and delicious! My tastes required a few changes, but the beauty of this recipe is that it's versatile and you can easily make swaps. I added some finely chopped cucumber, a splash or two of balsamic vinegar, and topped the served salad with feta cheese. We ate this along side some grilled chicken and I even sprinkled some of this on top of some salad greens--yum! The next day, I took the leftovers and added them to a prepared can of tomato soup and sprinkled in some additional garlic powder and dried basil and topped with a little feta. My kids gobbled it right up!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Pinklantana 1
Thank you for this very easy to put together bean salad. I changed based on what I had on hand. I used white and black beans for the contrast and yellow cherry tomatoes cut in half and cilantro. I didn't have capers so I left that out. It seemed it was missing something and it may have been what the capers did for it so I added only a teaspoon of ACV and this is perfect. I will be buying capers next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 May 2010
Reviewed by: joaniepony
best ever!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: naples34102
Fresh and flavorful, and I love the light, refreshing dressing. I used all ingredients to taste and a 2:1 ratio of olive oil to lemon juice. I added some finely chopped green pepper for a contrast in flavor, color and texture. Very festive as well as delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: t3g4n
This is amazing. I made this along with, the Fiery Fish Tacos with Crunchy Corn Salsa and it was amazing. Then I at the bean salad as a salsa both alone and mixed with the salsa from the above recipe, amazing, then I took both salsas and put them on my breakfast burritos, amazing!! Highly recommend this dish. It is very versatile, fresh, healthy and great for many summer dishes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes