My Reviews (25)

Spicy Marinated Pork Chops

Don't let the large number of ingredients in this recipe put you off - it's fantastic. You can also use the marinade with pork ribs and chicken.
Reviews (25)


17 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Saveur
Thank you for such a versitile and very delicious recipe! I had two large butterfly pork chops, so I halved all of the liquid and only used a couple of shots of beer (thanks previous reviewers). I also subbed several tablespoons of a prepared jerk seasoning in place of the list of jerk spices. Smelled soooo good on the grill, and I loved the light carmelization from the molasses and rum, balanced by the saltiness of the soy sauce. Will definitely use this one again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: jimmy d
This came out really nice. I can't imagine the problems that the other reviews had unless they did not follow the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Kathleen M.
Made this recipe for the Labor Day BBQ. Everyone loved it! Next time, I'll try it on chicken.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: sdk
FABULOUS! I love the infusion of flavors that brought this dish together. As mixing, I was skeptical! Once I poured over the chops, the aroma, I knew it was going to be delightful. I cut down on the Rum and used a ginger puree. I cut down too on the nutmeg and cinnamon (I was only using 4 chops). I used Red Stripe Lager (Jamaican Beer). My family was loving this and asked for me to make it again. I only marinaded this for about 7 hours though. It would be fantastic if used with Chicken or on Ribs (as another reviewer stated). Thank you so much for sharing....
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: DiamondGirl amanecer
Great marinade! Everybody in my family enjoyed this recipe. I didn`t use molasses for marinade. If you don`t have a grill, fry the meat on a pan and you`ll get wonderful chops.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Alissa
If you find the alocohol taste overpowering, marinate for MUCH less time, I make my own version, and only marinate for no more than a couple of hours
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Snow likes to cook
smelled awesome when grilling but the taste was weird. Followed recipe exact. Real different. Probably wont make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: cristal
Made this on Friday night for a family dinner. Very, very good! The lime was not overpowering at all and yeah, you couldn't really taste the beer or rum but I don't think the point of the recipe was to taste those two ingredients. The combination of everything though is really tasty! I had to shop for some of the spices which I didn't already have, so now I have to figure out what to do with them!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Apr 2014
Reviewed by: Sherri
I did half the recipe for four loin chops and it was the perfect amount. We used our favorite Yuengling Lager in the marinade. I was concerned when one review said the alcohol was over powering, but we didn't taste the alcohol at all. I did detect the subtle flavoring from the spices and the sweetness and little spicy kick, all came together quite well, and the meat was tender and very juicy for pork. The only change I made was dried marjoram spice instead of fresh, and couldn't find a scotch bonnet pepper, so used a small jalapeno from my garden.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Hot Chilli
I used a Pork Tenderloin instead of chops. The alcohol taste was a bit over powering. The marinade could have done with much more chilli and a touch more sweetness. My husband liked it more than I did.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes