My Reviews (64)

Creamy Gorgonzola Cheese Sauce

This rich, deep Gorgonzola cheese sauce will make any vegetable side dish special. Try it with steamed broccoli or oven-roasted asparagus.
Reviews (64)


19 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: MAREMOSSO
Stodgy - lose the flour and milk mixture. Instead, infuse some garlic in heavy cream, and remove. Melt the gorgonzola in the cream, adding a little white wine to thin if needed. Add (or not) chopped walnuts to the finished sauce - and that's it! Take care when buying gorgonzola, as it comes in creamy and extra salty sand pungent. In Italy we traditionally use the creamy gorgonzola for this sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: DREAM
What a wonderful base recipe for a quick and easy gorgonzola cream sauce. Based on the reviews, I improvised a bit. I added a small bulb of garlic to saute with the butter, used half&half to make it richer, 1 and 1/4 cups of gorgonzola cheese, heated long enough to melt most of the cheese, then tossed it with hot tortelloni and topped it off with fresh dungeness crab...it was an excellent meal fit to be served in a restaurant. My sister who doesn't like gorgonzola or bleu cheese loved this dish!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: Daniel den Hoed
This recipe had almost no flavor, except for a very plain white sauce. We followed the directions exactly and even added a whole cup of gorgonzola, and could not taste the cheese at all. If I would make this again I would only make half the amount of sauce. Three cups was way too much for one pound of pasta anyways. If you cut the milk, butter, and flour in half and use 1 cup of cheese I think you might get a nice flavorful sauce then.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: ALETA14
Nice mild gorgonzola sauce. I put extra cheese in because I really like it. Also used skim milk and it came out fine.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: rwinva
I made this last night and was very disapointed. 3 cups of milk? that has to be a typo. It was very runny and I couldn't taste any cheese even after adding twice what it calls for. I have made/eaten gorgonzola sauce in the past and this was not IT.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: Lyndsey
Very good, however, like some of the other cooks, I added extra cheese and garlic.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: A. Park
OMG! This was to die for! My husband and I use to drive 2 hours to go to a restaurant to get a pasta dish with Gorgonzola Sauce. This tastes just like that sauce, now we don't have to drive all that way. Thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: CHELS
I found this to be sort of like an enhanced version of the traditional Alfredo sauce. Delicious served over pasta, with some fresh parsley on top.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: Janet
Wow! This is fantastic. The market was out of gorgonzola so I substituted blue cheese. I added a bit more salt and pepper to bring out the flavors. I served over tortellini. My husband said it was definitely worth keeping.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: Renee Trivelli Milillo
I too added a little more cheese. I guess you can say alot more cheese. I used 1 1/2 cups. And it still needed something else. I think next time i will use a little more salt. I think sea salt and some extra fresh ground black pepper will do the trick. I will make again though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes