My Reviews (17)

Orange Lemon Icing

The combination of orange and lemon juice and zest creates a beautiful golden coloured flecked icing. Adds a nice bright finishing touch to your cakes.
Reviews (17)


29 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: naples34102
I made this as directed, egg yolk and all, and it is just a beautiful frosting! I, of course, had to adjust the measurements of the juices a bit to get the frosting to the perfect consistency (no recipe for frosting can be precise, so should not be criticized if more or less powdered sugar or liquid needs to be added). This is a light, fluffy, citrus frosting that was the perfect choice to frost Rainbow Citrus Cake, also from this site.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 May 2003
Reviewed by: Debsdolls
This was easy and tasty. As I do with all frosting recipes, I doubled it. I omitted the egg yolk and added in addition to the juice some orange flavored liquor. This has a nice subtle flavor. I will definately make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: mominml
Awesome!!! Since I was not making this for my family, I did not use the egg yolk. I am not sure of the purpose of the yolk - I have never made a frosting that called for one. I also only used 3 cups of sugar and with the lack of the the moisture from the yolk, I ended up adding in more lemon and orange juice. It was perfect for piping on my mini cupcakes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Corinne
This frosting tasted great, hardened on the outside, and kept soft on the inside. However... it was EXTREMELY unpleasant to make and work with. It was very stiff and we had to add a lot of liquid to make it workable.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: wickedeyes
Like most I had to double the recipe. I added more orange zest and juice too to give it more flavor. Also, this was WAY too sweet for my taste. I used 3 cups of confectioner's sugar instead of 4.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 May 2010
Reviewed by: Anichka5
Quite tasty, although I recommend doubling the recipe. I did and needed it all to frost a 2-layer 9" cake. Use fresh zest because it really adds great flavour. I also added it splash of orange extract.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: LINDA SAMPLEY
This frosting has great visual appeal... and it's delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: coastie
Very nice recipe with a lovely flavor. I had to add just a touch of milk as it was just a little too thick to spread. Otherwise, a great icing recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: IrishMom Luvs2Bake
I used all orange juice and orange oil and left out the egg yolk. Not wanting to use it. This tastes heavenly on spice cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: LouisvilleHugger
Adjustments were necessary for me too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes