My Reviews (32)

Orange Almond Muffins

Until you try the combination of toasted coconut, almonds, orange zest, vanilla and coconut milk, you won't believe how good these muffins are!
Reviews (32)


09 Apr 2014
Reviewed by: carabellainoz3
These muffins are really light and tender, I noticed there was no egg in this recipe which I found odd so I did put an egg in and instead of vanilla essence I put coconut essence only because I had it in the cupboard, really moorish muffin I would make them again.
 
16 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Dianne
Gorgeous muffins! Tender, not too sweet, even with sweetened flaked coconut. I subbed coconut oil for the olive oil. Coconut oil is solid at room temp, so I just nuked it for about 20 seconds. It added just the right amount of extra coconut flavor. I love the orange zest and the little crunch from the almonds and chew from the coconut. I topped the muffins with sliced almonds and then flaked coconut about half-way through baking time so it wouldn't get too brown.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: BethDai
These were AMAZING.. but with a few alterations. I know this is technically a different recipe then, but i always enjoy pointers in the review section. First, i added 1 cup coconut milk and no orange juice, and substituted lemon zest for orange. Make sure to add the sugar to the milk mixture so that it is fully mixed through. Also, with the advice of another review, i added 1/2 tsp cardamom and a generous dash of ginger. I also did a teaspoon of coconut extract, 1/2 tsp of almond extract and a dash of vanilla. DO toast the coconut and almonds, it makes all the difference. And, for my healthier preferences, i substituted one cup of whole wheat pastry flour for one cup of the all purpose flour and 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce for the olive oil... i felt the olive oil made the texture extremely heavy. Mix to BARELY moist, and these are absolutely delectable. The best part is that they are Vegan-friendly for my friends.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: tastymorsel
This recipe has potential but needs help. First, double the salt and the vanilla. Then add 1/2t. cardamom and 1T fresh minced ginger to the mix. Finally make sure you toast the almonds and the coconut. This is just plain essential.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Jen
Tasty and moist but needs either some spices or coconut extract for a more intense coconut flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Sparkles
These muffins are very good ! The only change I made was I used 1/2 tsp . of coconut extract and 1/2 tsp. of almond extract. I'll be making these regularly. Thanks for a great recipe !!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 May 2009
Reviewed by: HARTMR
Not that great. I thought the flavors sounded interesting, but it ended up tasting kinda dried out. Should there be an egg or something in the batter?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: WhirledPeas
Great tasting muffins that are simple to make! I baked them in a *mini* muffin pan, and ended up with 24. Will definitely make these again. I used the sweetened baker's coconut--which I didn't bother toasting. Turned out fine, but I'll try toasting the next time around to see if it makes much of a difference or not. Didn't bother to toast the almonds either... Also used nonaluminum baking powder (Rumford's), and extra LIGHT virgin olive oil. The muffins don't have a "complex" flavor, but were well received by the family, nonetheless. (Including my children!) :o)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Christy
Loved these! My kids and I enjoyed making them this morning too. We used sweetened coconut milk instead, substituted apple sauce for the oil and nixed the orange zest. They were very easy. We will be making them again! However, next time we will double the recipe, lol 12 muffins didn't last very long in my house
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Brit
I loved these muffins!!! However, I did change the recipe so that I loved them even more the next time. Less orange zest or omit altogether and added a bit more coconut extract...DELISH!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes