My Reviews (96)

Gingerbread Spice Cake

A lovely warm and spicy gingerbread cake, perfect with whipped cream, ice cream or custard at Christmas. You can use either light molasses or golden syrup.
Reviews (96)


18 May 2016
Reviewed by: CherriBonneyMusic
This cake is FABULOUS!! I made it for a Mothers day afternoon, I have 2 little grandchildren and they said ' it was the best cake they have ever had" it went down very well with all adults too, its just divine! TY Cherri :-)
 
06 Dec 2015
Reviewed by: magz1704
I made it into a gingerbread man cake. It was ok like it tasted nice and all but didn't taste as much like gingerbread as I would have liked.
 
08 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: PEACHESNCREAM2
This is the exact recipe I've used to make gingerbread for years. I've tried other recipes, but keep coming back to this one - it's my idea of perfect gingerbread. It's easy to make, with ingredients always on hand, and mildly spiced to please the whole family. I use Grandma's Molasses (which appears dark - I'm not sure what "light molasses" is). You can double the amounts of ginger and cinnamon if you prefer a spicier cake. This truly is "good old-fashioned gingerbread"!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: GingerBlue
Perfectly moist and light and fluffy and wonderful with a slightly chewy crust (I like the corners). The kids all raved on this. I added twice the ginger as I like it that way. Really a lot better than I expected. One of the best quick cakes I've ever made. No more brownies for us! **Note** I'm coming back to update my review. I just read the other reviews that talk about this cake being dry. I don't understand that. Perhaps they missed adding the water? Maybe they're cooking it too long? This truly is so moist that it is really a cake, not a bread. I've made it repeatedly and it's great every time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: THEJUDAHLION
I doubled this and made some for my 96 year old Kentucky Granny. She loved it. And she has been cooking for 80 years, her approval is not given to just any ole dish. I added a lil' bit more ginger. Just a pinch more. My Whole family loved it.Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: PMEANEY
I just follow the cooking instructions and this cake turned out perfect.....just like my gramma used to make!!!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Val's the Gal
YUM,YUM,YUM! Perfect recipe. Quick, easy, delicious. I doubled the spices and used regular molasses. Sifted powdered sugar over the top while still warm. It's a HIT!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: TRISTIA
I had a spur of the moment christmas feeling, and needed a gingerbread cake, and this was the most compatable recipe I found- I substituted the water for orange juice, and both molasses and white sugar for brown sugar, and added ground cloves and nutmeg. Was absolutely delicious with an orange juice and sugar glaze.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: Charlene
I really enjoyed this cake. It was easy to make with ingredients I had on hand. I used regular molassas instead of light. It turned out wonderful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: Rhonda N
I love this recipe! I used softened butter instead of shortening, and I doubled all the spices and did a little extra baking soda. Also, I added about a half of a teaspoon of ground cloves.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes