My Reviews (123)

Ginger Spice Cupcakes

Cupcakes are at their best when they are light, moist and spicy. Lemon and cream cheese make a delightful icing - a big hit with my kids!
Reviews (123)


05 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: ELBISKER
I have searched for the perfect gingerbread recipe, and this is definitely the one--moist and spicy, and the cocoa powder somehow ties all the other flavors together. It's also quite easy to make. The only thing to watch out for is the frosting recipe attached to it--something's not recorded quite right. Try this instead: cream together 8 oz. cream cheese, 4 Tbs cream and 2 cups sugar--light, sweet and simple.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: PURSEONALITY
I gave this four stars only because I had to change the frosting. Used 8 ounces cream cheese, 2 cups confectioners sugar & added 1/4 tsp lemon extract. The frosting turned out great. The cupcakes were delicious!! A little on the dry side with 20 mins cook time - will try 16 mins next time as another reviewer suggested!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: HEIDI 'S HOME
Would have given this a 4 1/2 star rating, only because the cocoa stood out. I made mini-cupcakes (39), baked for 15 minutes and they came out full and with a nice light texture. Next time I would add more ginger and , maybe a touch of ground cloves. I will make them again !!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Meredith
These were great! Used 2c powdered sugar with 8oz soft cream cheese and 1tsp vanilla for the frosting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: ENGLISHLADY
Great muffins,soft, moist and yummy. Tasts very much like parkin to me, so some of these will be done for bonfire night (I've just baffled the Americans out there, sorry!) but nope, I didn't dig the frosting much so do go with making your own I think. Actually, I don't think they even really need the icing anyway as they're so moist and yummy. I'll add a bit more spice next time, but i think i was a bit skinny on the measurements anyways
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: ritachick
These were excellent! The texture is wonderful. I've made cupcakes with this recipe and also a 9X13 cake...both turned out great. This was big hit at potluck!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: naples34102
Great gingerbread and spice flavor, nice and moist, but... I was very disappointed at how these rose - with flat tops, spilling out onto the muffin tin. Tried 'em twice too, thinking I may have done something absent-minded the first time. Not. They turned out the same way the second time as well. Like little hats with a brim, or maybe little flying saucers. I won't make these again for that reason alone. I didn't use the frosting in this recipe, preferring to use my own, which was a perfect match for these cupcakes: 4 oz. cream cheese, 1/4 c. butter, 2 c. powdered sugar, some grated lemon zest, and enough fresh lemon juice to get to desired consistency. I rated these four stars because Hubs loved them, but in my book I'd rate them only three.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: FRAMBUESA
These were really pretty good. They had a nice, spicy gingerbread flavor and the lemon frosting on top was a really nice change of flavors from your usual chocolate and vanilla. I ended up filling 15 muffin tins and had to bake them about 6 minutes longer than suggested, and they blobbed over the sides of the tins. I might fill them slightly less next time if I make these again around the holidays. Especially cute with mini gingerbread man sprinkles on top.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: christie
Great recipe!!! I used tablespoons of ginger instead of teaspoons though. Awesome!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: ANASTASIAJANE
My children and their friends loved these, and they are not overly sweet. They taste best when served cold. 16 minutes was enough cooking time. I mixed 8oz. reduced-fat cream cheese, 2 cups confectioners sugar, 1 t. lemon extract and a splash of half-and-half for frosting (with a lot leftover).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes